Clownfish better in pairs?

pynakerm

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to reef keeping and have a newly setup 72g tank with refugium and protein skimmer. I used the previous owners filter media and substrate to setup the tank and cycle it 6 wks ago. 2 weeks ago I added 3 hermit crabs which are thriving. The tank has 0 nitrites, 2ppm nitrate, 0 ammonia, and a 7.8 ph. I have a 5 stage RO/DI setup but have really hard well water.

Last night I added two coral frags and a single clownfish. The corals are open and look great this morning but the little clown is hanging out in the upper left corner of the tank. He looks ok, just doesn't come down. My question is, Is this normal behavior for a clownfish? Should I have purchased the other clown that was living with him at the store? I can go back and get the other one today but don't want to get another fish sick. Should I add an anemone for him (in a few weeks) to get him to swim around a bit?

Thank you in advance for your help. I am excited to learn and grow my tank responsibly.

Last edited:

Fish Think Pink

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to reef keeping and have a newly setup 72g tank with refugium and protein skimmer. I used the previous owners filter media and substrate to setup the tank and cycle it 6 wks ago. 2 weeks ago I added 3 hermit crabs which are thriving. The tank has 0 nitrites, 2ppm nitrate, 0 ammonia, and a 7.8 ph. I have a 5 stage RO/DI setup but have really hard well water.