Clownfish bullying

jaehyeokeom

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, my name is Jake. I am new to this hobby.

First I started with a 15 gallon fowlr tank with two clownfish.
One is regular orange occy(smaller) and another is black occy(bigger).
Since the first month, the black occy started bullying the other, so I decided to add another bigger orange occy(seems to be a female bc it was with another smaller clownfish in a tank at lfs when I bought her) to my tank. I thought having more clowns would help for aggression to spread between two clowns instead of just one getting bullied all the time.

But that didnt go as expected. The new orange occy and black occy together started bullying the smaller orange occy. They would beat him in the corner, and prevented him from getting any food whenever I fed them.

Then I thought a bigger tank might solve the whole problem, so bought a 55 gallon tank and put the victim clownfish in it FIRST just to get him used to a new tank before everyone else.
Meanwhile, in a 15 gallon tank, the black occy (an *******) now started bullying the bigger orange occy, so I had to move the bigger orange occy to 55 gallon system.
Two orange occys were fine with each other, and I think they paired up(swimming, chilling and sleeping together)

I eventually moved the last black occy to a 55 gallon tank, hoping that her aggression settles. Now the black occy chase the other two clowns, puts them in the corner and bullies them. Poor smaller orange occy has his fin nipped off as well as his tail.

So my question is, what will solve this aggression problem other than getting rid of the black occy? Will adding more clownfish help and making it a harem tank solve?

vtecintegra

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0