Clownfish Hosting Questions

ClownfishAnemone

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all, im new to R2R and saltwater tanks in general with so far about 2 months experience, i have somewhat of a grasp on most things because i’ve watched the 52 weeks of reefing series. As of now i have a 5.5 Fluval salt tank with 3 small fish, 2 black ocellaris clowns and a diamondback goby. Currently they like to hover around my flow nozzle or they stay vertical sometimes on the black flat surface of the filtration area, I bought two small really nice BTAs for a good deal from a local owned pet store, yesterday at about 8am i put the clowns and the btas (both attached to a small rock) in a breeder box that remains inside the tank with slits for water to flow through. I then went to attend to other things through the day and kept periodically checking on them. At first the male was hovering extremely close and touching the bigger sized anemone which had me excited but he wasn’t doing the typical cuddling you see when the anemone hosts them. I decided to leave them in there till this morning, when i was extremely happy and excited to see the female was going into the larger anemone and fully acting like she’s taken to it now, i didn’t observe the male going into it but i’m on a time schedule from work, so i put the bta back in along with the clowns, excited to see them go towards the anemone…. butttttttt….. they just went right back to the nozzle. Is there a way to discourage them to stay near the nozzle and instead keep them more focused on the anemone? Should i put them back in the breeder till i see both of them looking like they’ve accepted it instead of just one? Any tips are appreciated, thanks!

Sharkbait19

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to the forum!