Collecting beach sand and water curious

South Carolina reef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to this. I have what I think is an experiment question. I live close to the beach in Charleston sc. I've been wondering if harvesting beach sand during low tide would benefit my tank. Maybe place in in my sump, also considering a cup or two of sea water? Does anybody know if this would be a beneficial thing.As my tank is not quite 4 months old. I was wondering if it would help with biodiversity. Assistance with a natural biology against pest algae. I'm not sure I'm just intrigued by the idea .

bushdoc

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Lucky U, I just got shipment of live sand from Tampa Bay Saltwater and I had to pay for it big bucks.
Yes, live sand would benefit your tank, just don’t know how tropical is a beach you are going to collect it from.

rja

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The water:
No, it would not be beneficial at all. There is nothing in “pure” ocean water that cannot be provided by a high quality reef salt. If anything, you run the risk of adding actual pollution to your tank.

The sand:
I would highly doubt you will be getting any helpful beneficial bacteria from this. South Carolina is a very different climate from, lets say, the indo pacific. The same bacteria that thrives on the coral reef is likely not the same bacteria that thrives in South Carolina. Again, you may introduce crazy pests, pollution, or tons of organic matter that will be broken down in your system.

His Coral Highness

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0