Copepods: to fuge or not to fuge

BRS

fishmonkey

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 4, 2021
Messages
33
Reaction score
6
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Los Angeles
So I have a 40 gallon breeder and a 20 gallon sump with LOTS of bio media for around 6 months now. It’s getting to the point where I would like to actively work on establishing a copepod population.
I have no refugium but am considering getting those hob ones mainly for the pods. I really don’t want to bother with it but if it’s necesarry I will.
First question is if it is even necessary knowing my sump has tons of bio media and my tank has plenty of dry rock and 2 inch sand bed. Maybe I can add a loofa if I really have to.
Second is who makes the best hob refugiums out there?
Thirdly how long should I turn off my skimmer and what about my mesh filter socks?
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

Spare time

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 12, 2019
Messages
4,811
Reaction score
2,987
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Fijicube hob refugium are nice.


Do you need one for pods? No. Does it help? Sure, more space and a place where they can graze on algae and what not without fish.

I think the best way to keep a big population is to dose phyto daily
 

LordofCinder

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 14, 2021
Messages
616
Reaction score
755
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Toronto
pods dont need a specific place like a hob or refugium, just put them in your tank, they will live in the holes in the live rock. If your really concerned for them to have a safe spot, you can put a pile of rock ruble in the corner, or they even sell pod "hotels" now for like $30, but I dont think its neccessary. When I add then to my tank, I normally turn off my skimmer and machines for 5-10 minutes. Just feed phytoplankton or phytofeast to your tank so they have food, then they will multiply
 

Jay'sReefBugs

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 2, 2020
Messages
127
Reaction score
91
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I culture a decent amount of copepods and some amthipods. I acutaly recommend turning fuge areas into rock rubble to my customers. It's the most natural for them and a great place for them to thrive . So no you don't need a fuge at all
 

homer1475

Figuring out the hobby one coral at a time.
View Badges
Joined
Apr 24, 2018
Messages
6,622
Reaction score
9,786
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Way upstate NY
I culture a decent amount of copepods and some amthipods. I acutaly recommend turning fuge areas into rock rubble to my customers. It's the most natural for them and a great place for them to thrive . So no you don't need a fuge at all
I would second this.

When I turned my fuge into just rock rubble I had way more pods then just macro. Dosing phyto daily will help them feed and multiply.
 
Reef Chasers Aquaculture

jmichaelh7

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
May 29, 2020
Messages
1,132
Reaction score
459
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
Location
Hanford ca
Unless you really have nitrate and phosphate issues I wouldn’t even bother.

I think I’m at the last stage of battling dinos because one day I wanted to set up a fuge and it pulled all nutrients
 
OP
fishmonkey

fishmonkey

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 4, 2021
Messages
33
Reaction score
6
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Los Angeles
I culture a decent amount of copepods and some amthipods. I acutaly recommend turning fuge areas into rock rubble to my customers. It's the most natural for them and a great place for them to thrive . So no you don't need a fuge at all
Rubble in sump or display? Any difference?
 
RAP
BRS

Do you house a "Reef Safe" Angelfish in your reef tank?

  • YES and it's going good

    Votes: 90 41.5%
  • YES but it's not working out

    Votes: 6 2.8%
  • NO I have tried it in the past and it didn't work out

    Votes: 20 9.2%
  • NO I haven't tried yet

    Votes: 95 43.8%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 6 2.8%
Bulk Reef Supply
Top