Copperband and and SB Anthias questions

Syntax1235

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yesterday I purchased a Copperband and a Squareback Anthias in a Lfs. The Copperband was eating frozen brine at the store (yes, I saw it eat). They both have been in stage 1 of tank transfer for almost 24 hours. I tried feeding some frozen brine, mysis and even some clam - they won't eat yet. The CB did take a couple nips of brine but spit it out. No sign of disease so far.

Should I try live black worms or wait another day and feed the frozen brine again?

Both fish look fine but are sticking to a corner of the tank. The CB will come to the front glass when he sees me.

I was thinking of using prazi as well but I want to get them eating first.

Thoughts?

8f880966a7092c90d9e62e573c60625c.jpg
d939914607e2d2b85538686ee7167c34.jpg
5262cb3d1d0f10a5c10b8241a81a34a1.jpg

jimbau

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am no expert but both these fish are hard to get eating. For that reason, if there is not any outward sign of active disease, I would wait to medicate until they are eating. Most medication suppresses appetite which is the last thing you want. I might even hold off on the TTM with these fish until they are actively eating. I have lost both of these fish to starvation and it is not fun. If you can get live black worms it might get them eating. Clams on the half shell works well for the CBB and frozen eggs for the SBA work well sometimes.

Cflip

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Going to try some live black worms this evening. If both fish eat then I'll continue with TTM, if not I'll hold off until they do.

Where do you get live black worms? Can I get them at a bait store ? My LFS don't have them.

OP
OP
Syntax1235

Syntax1235

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0