Coral Not Growing/ Dying Off

espieg

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My coral has not been doing very well for some time now and I’m wondering if it could really all be contributed to low nutrients. I feed often but can’t seem to get nitrate up even after stopping my skimmer.

My levels are

alk - 7.5
Cal - 400
Mag - 1350
nit - 0
Phos - 0

I know alk is fairly low but it’s hard for me to believe that that is the sole reason behind the coral dying off, especially because it remains consistent. My temp stays between 77.5 and 78.2 and the salinity is always at 1.024. I’ve had little to no coral growth in 6-8 months (outside of a cyphastrea extending half an inch). Help is appreciated and I’m sure I’m doing something wrong so hopefully you guys can tell me what to change.

CocoReef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I cant offer much advice as Im still learning but personally I noticed much more growth after I started feeding my corals if you arent already doing so

Uncle99

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
They are starving if your nitrate and phosphate is actually zero.
Feeding takes to long to ramp up, if your sure your zero, bump both by dosing them upwards…..slowly…..with something like neo-nitro and neo-phos, into the 5-10ppm nitrate and 0.05-.1ppm phosphate.

I wonder if light PAR is too low if the cyphastria grew, it does usually in low light sett8ngs.

I maintain 1.025.

monkeyCmonkeyDo

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If your salinity is low so are all your other elements....
Raise to 1.025-1.026
Give it 2 weeks. Top off with rodi water. Try again.
Soft corals like zoanthids and mushrooms are gonna be your friend.
D

DirkCourage

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0