coral qt.. no need to reset clock with new pieces?

HotRocks

Fish Fanatic!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
nvrmnd. found my answer in the sticky above.

Brian, just make sure whatever piece you are transferring to DT that has completed the 76 day fallow is rinsed very well with DT water so that if there are tomites or free swimmers being released in the coral QT by a more recently added piece you don't transfer them.

It is fully possible to transfer a free swimmer.

maevepotter

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm nearly done with the fallow period myself but am wondering if dipping (please tell me what kind) is effective also? It's been a long time to wait.

Thanks,
Meghan

HotRocks

Fish Fanatic!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm nearly done with the fallow period myself but am wondering if dipping (please tell me what kind) is effective also? It's been a long time to wait.

Thanks,
Meghan

I am no expert in coral. I can help with the life cycle of parasites/fallow periods and fish disease.

There is not a dip for corals that can remove parasites. However a dip in coral RX etc. May be beneficial for new corals and removing coral related pests etc.

#reefsquad any thoughts?

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Thanks,
Meghan
I'm not sure what is being asked. What are you wondering about dipping being effective for?

Gareth elliott

Read, Tinker, Fail, Learn
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If the qt is fish less. There is no way to complete the life cycle so encrusted parasites on one frag cant enter the water column to encrust another one. Each frag just needs to complete 76 days.

For coral parasites the life cycle of aefw is 21 days. Need to dip each coral every 21-22 days as eggs are not effected by dips.
I dont know the life cycle of red bugs or coral eating nudies.