Coral questions

dr.ben

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey I am new to reefing and I have just added a bunch of corals to my 2-3 month old tank. Originally I was planning on going mixed reef, but I'm favoring LPS, so it may end up being an LPS dominant scape. Also my SO, who is a nature educator, thought the Duncan coral was an anemone and I had to explain that while they are Cnidarians they are different lol!

I have a ton of random questions if anyone has comments on any of them:

1. What is normal coral behavior as far as opening during the day, closing at night, etc.?
2. Is it common for Acro to not really extend any polyps?
3. How fast do corals grow without feeding?
4. Are frogspawn tentacles really that harsh to other corals?
5. Is bleaching in SPS usually a lighting intensity issue or is it common to have issues from water parameters that cause bleaching?
6. What do you wish you'd known about keeping coral? (Other than keep it stable!)

TIA for any info you can share!

DeniseAndy

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey I am new to reefing and I have just added a bunch of corals to my 2-3 month old tank. Originally I was planning on going mixed reef, but I'm favoring LPS, so it may end up being an LPS dominant scape. Also my SO, who is a nature educator, thought the Duncan coral was an anemone and I had to explain that while they are Cnidarians they are different lol! :p More explanations will be to come. :)

I have a ton of random questions if anyone has comments on any of them:

1. What is normal coral behavior as far as opening during the day, closing at night, etc.? Depends a lot on the type of coral. Many lps are puffy during the day and close slightly at night unless they are feeding. Then they puff up with feeders and swallow up food.