CRASH UPDATE...THANKS TO ALL WHO HELPED

NicLongman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I will post links to previous threads so you understand if you want to read what happened.

I just want to say thank you so much to everyone who helpede through my first tank crash. The problem started with my tank seeming to be cycled...well it wasn't. There was brown diatoms and green hair algea, to me that says complete cycle or almost (but ehatbdoni know, I'm still a noob. Anyway, I got a cleanup crew and away they went eating and cleaning... About a week earlier I had put 2 damsel's in to see if they would survive and to help cycle the tank. Anyway, about 10 days go by and the tank has less algea so in my noobie excitement I added 1 Yellow Tang. The tank looked great and everything was good, levels were stable and everything was happy. (Oh yeah there was coral added same time as the first two fish). About 2 weeks later I again in my noobie haste and excitement, added a powder brown Tang......and again everything is looking good. Levels are good. Seem to be stable even though I know a tank isn't mature and stable stable for about a year. So about another 2 weeks later I was in the cities and really wanted clowns, so I got 2 and added them. Again everything seemed fibe. Then another 2 weeks later I got the anemone.....I know I know It was a rookie mistake that made me learn my lesson on patience. Then everything went to hell. I don't know if it was the anem that put it over the edge or if it was a dead snail I didnt notice but either way..... CRASH. Remeber, I thought the tank was cycled...at least after the algea bloom and stable levels. Anyway, added the anem and boom... levels all over the place, wake up to the tangs and clowns all dead, yeah that was really disappointing. I was really kicking myself for not putting them in the smaller 30g I set up about 2 weeks after I set up the main 75g, and I was toying with the idea that day, but at the time they didnt sh