Crushed Coral to Sand. How should i do it?!?!?1

Ranger NRK

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I have crushed coral and at first I loved it; I didn't have problems but i just did a 20% water change and my nitrates really didn't change too much and im starting to get nervous about what everyone says with it being a nitrate factory. How should i go about switching my substrate so i don't crash my tank and what substrate should i put in its place? I have a 30 hex tall and iv got 2 clowns and several chromis, 25lbs of liverock.

Hydrahawk

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Crushed coral are known to trap detritus/uneaten food. Don't change it all at once. I would do 1/3-1/2 at a time. I really like Caribsea Flamingo Reef and Fiji Pink Reef sand.

russo36

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to the saltwater world... But after doing a lot of research
I went for the sand substrate... I kept freshwater fish for over 15 years
And it's real hard to lower your nitrates w crush coral you have to siphon the hell out of it

breaknrun911

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Crushed coral are known to trap detritus/uneaten food. Don't change it all at once. I would do 1/3-1/2 at a time. I really like Caribsea Flamingo Reef and Fiji Pink Reef sand.
+1
Will you be using live sand? If you do make sure you rinse it thoroughly with fresh water prior to adding

OP
OP
Ranger NRK

Ranger NRK

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0