Curing dry live rocks

Tim Cuthbert

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to saltwater and getting ready to cure some dry rocks and watching some video and reading some articles I'm going with bleach .
1. Do I use saltwater or RODI water.
2. Do I use a heater and what temp do I set it at.

Tahoe61

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi and Welcome to R2R.

For use with bleach use RODI water. When curing use salt.

This time a year you really do not need a heater, but 72-78 should cover it.

hijinks7

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
curing is is making it live. So you want to use heated salt water once the rock is cleaned. You can clean it with different methods like soak it in water, acid bath or bleech. Once cleaned you want to soak it in heated salt water at around 74-78 degrees and have a pump in there to move around water. You also want to ghost feed the rock to get the bacteria growing.

OP
OP
T

Tim Cuthbert

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
curing is is making it live. So you want to use heated salt water once the rock is cleaned. You can clean it with different methods like soak it in water, acid bath or bleech. Once cleaned you want to soak it in heated salt water at around 74-78 degrees and have a pump in there to move around water. You also want to ghost feed the rock to get the bacteria growing.
So I just soak in bleach I can use dori water

hijinks7

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The bleach will speed up removing dead material on the rock. I just used normal tap water for that mixed with bleach. Just do it outside though if you can. The smell can be awful at best. I soaked them in the bleach for 2 weeks then dipped them in RODI and put them in salt for a 2-3 month cure.

U

User1

View Badges