Cycling tank, Has No ammonia but has High Nitrites and Ntrates, Am I done cycling?

Salty2

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been cycling My 170 RS Reefer and I’m so confused, I have no ammonia in the tank but I have high Nitrates and High Nitrites. I’m using the API Master test kit. And also there is no algae showing on the rocks. I also used the turbo start and drops of dr Tim’s ammonia t cycle this tank and as of now I’m on week 3. Question is am I done cycling? Or is the tank paused cycling?? This is my first time doing this following instructions. As my 20 g tank wasn’t even done cycling ( I promise I didn’t know that it wasn’t done cycling) and I have put corals in but they survive .

dimitrinivo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
No, you arent done until you read....

ammonia 0ppm
nitrite 0ppm
Nitrate 5ppm - 40ppm:

then do a water change to lower the nitrates

Greg P

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
When you see 0 ammonia 0 nitrite and nitrates come down quite a bit you should be good. Nitrites are deadly like ammonia.
Just an FYI; Nitrites/NO2 are NOT toxic to SW fish in the levels we deal with.
You'd need to have readings in the 100s before any issues would occur.

Even with zero NH3, if you still have some NO2, your cycle is not quite complete.
Wait until you only have NO3 readings, then do a large enough WC to bring them to a level you are happy with.
Then you are good to go.

Zotch

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Please stop what you are doing and do some research. Asking questions on a message board is fine but reading/watching videos should be your path.

OP
OP
Salty2

Salty2

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Please stop what you are doing and do some research. Asking questions on a message board is fine but reading/watching videos should be your path.