Cycling tank issues and don't know what's happening

ziggyjane07

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi All, just after some advice here as I'm not understanding what's happening. I'm very new to and still trying to get my head around it all!

I am cycling a small ocean free nano marine 5 (96L) tank as I wanted to start to kick it over and whilst I was at it start to try and cycle some bleached rock that I had and wanted to add to my big main DT as a bit more rock. The issue I'm having is I am using the Redsea reef mature kit and am up to day 10. However by this stage apparently testing the tank parameters are suppose to be as follows:
Ammonia - 0ppm
Nitrite - 0ppm
Nitrate - 10ppm

My actuals are as follows:
Salinity -1.025
Ammonia - .50
Nitrite - 2.0ppm
Nitrate - 80ppm
Oh and the phosphate was .9
I have tested for copper and that is Nil

I don't understand what is happening? I'm using everything in the dosage it's telling me? Is there to much rock in there or what's happening?
It doesn't smell off or rotten or anything and everything smells totally fine
But I also wanted to know when could I add the rock to the main DT or would it just kill everything in it or undo all everything in the main DT ?
My Redsea Reefer 525xl started the start of Oct. so fairly new but parameters in my main DT tank are all good just phosphates still coming down currently at .14 with Nyos torq and phosban running in it

Thanks so much!

tempImageWUTrQb.png

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would use the Red Sea Mature Reef numbers as merely a guide and not necessarily disappointed if yours seems off. I cycled two identical tanks with the Red Sea kit and got completely different readings over the course of 21 days with both tanks.

I'd stick with the timeline and finish the course they recommend. When you start seeing the rocks turn brown you'll know that you're on the right track.

OP
OP
Z

ziggyjane07