Dealing with Ich in a FOWLR

Bkatz1

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
First of all, I DO NOT HAVE ICH, I am setting up a new FOWLR. We already have a reef tank upstairs. This new tank will stay a FOWLR. So with only sand and rock in the tank, if I were to have an Ich, Velvet, or Brook outbreak in the tank, can I just treat the DT? Can you use CopperSafe, Cupramine, ect in a DT that will never have coral or inverts in it? I do not have this issue now, but I am just looking for experiences and options for the road ahead. All fish are OT'd before entering but I still would like to know what treatments would be detrimental to the tank, and what would be ok. I even had a LFS even say that dosing therapeutic levels of copper consistently (with no parasite present) could be done as an added form of prevention. I have had no experience with keeping larger "non reef safe" fish. Our stocking will be smaller tangs, dwarf angels, ect. The tank is 60x24x25 if that makes a difference.

I have a 5 year old reef tank upstairs that I am fortunate enough to never have dealt with these parasites... yet. Thanks in advance.

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0