Deep Sand Bed Question

Naoxyn

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to the Saltwater hobby, so forgive my youthful ignorance on this topic.

I'm curious as to why on all of the deep sand bed threads, there's no mention of a risk of anaerobic bacterial pockets building up in the sand bed and collapsing causing death in the tank. Does this not happen in saltwater tanks?

Coming from freshwater, if you are going to be using a deeper substrate, it's suggested to use a larger granule sizes or large porous rocks if necessary to facilitate beneficial bacterial growth in those areas. When I first saw marine pure blocks/balls, it looked to me they would be a perfect fit for that type of use. But, I haven't seen any mention of anyone trying something like that.

Just looking for expert thoughts and opinions.

Thanks!

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well they are not done that much anymore. So we don't see them that much.
I've been on reef2reef close to three years and have see one Go bad. I have seen a half dozen shallow beds go bad , several rocks. , a refugium , and many many bio pellet reactors and several carbon and gfo reactors.

The goal with a marine Dsb is to get as many worms and bugs into it as possible to keep flow through it.

I kinda assume fresh water has fewer bugs in general.

reeferfoxx

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've heard of folks going bare bottom or 1-1.5 inch beds and then placing a DSB in a bucket with return pump for the benefits of the bed.

I kinda assume fresh water has fewer bugs in general.
I don't see much bugs in my freshwater tank. However, the gravel/sandbed is about 2.5-3.5 inch for plant growth. The root system helps keep things cleanish. That said, If I were to disrupt the gravel, a water change must happen.