Desjardini Tang dying after dosing Cupramine in QT....

willthethrill

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So my 120 has been setup for 5-6 months. Got a couple basic fish in there. My QT is all setup so I said to myself, let's definitely quarantine anything new from here on out.

2 weeks ago I went out to the LFS looking to get a cool new addition. Saw a Desjardini tang, watched it eat, it was happy, healthy looking, Bam I bought it. 100 bucks. The most I've spent on a single fish so far. But it looked so cool I didn't care.

Went into my QT, has been happy and eating like a pig. Now, this is my first time pre-treating fish in QT. before this id always acclimate and throw into display. Prazi Pro treatment went fine. He was still happy and eating well.

Now the bad part of the story....yesterday afternoon I did a 75% water change to get most of the Prazi out and to get some fresh water in since it's a QT after all. Frequent water changes are part of the game to reduce ammonia levels from rising. As per the instructions on the Cupramine bottle i did the half dose as required.

Fast forward to this morning, I went to go do the usual walk around and he was swimming in place sideways! All pale in color, stress colors i guess. In a panic I did another 75% water change to get as much Cupramine out as I could. After 10 minutes or so his regular coloration came back and I breathed a sigh of relief. Still wouldn't eat though.

Now, night time I went to go check on him and he's on the floor gasping. what the heck man...my first time going about it "the right way" and pre-treating in a QT and this happens. Did the Cupramine do this? Even at its initial half dose?

Alanc425

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Did you add any water conditioners? That can kill pretty quickly when mixed with cupramine.

Half dose is pretty high even though that's what the bottle says, everyone usually recommends increasing dose over a few days.

Triggreef

Zoa Addict