Disaster!

Ecotech Marine

ReeferBob

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
1,502
Reaction score
590
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Damascus, MD
Last night I went into the fish room to do a couple things and water was all over. NO signs of a leak anywhere. I checked it all everything looked good. I was even thinking something in the ceiling was leaking since the top of the RODI storage tub had water. I cleaned up for 3 hours at least with maybe 20-30 gallons. I still did not see any issues with the system so just for fun I turned it back on. Check out the video for what I found. Thankfully this only happens under pressure or else I would have been looking at 100s of gallons and an insurance claim. I am buying a water alarm TODAY. This is at least the 4th or 5th flood. The unit is 10 years old plus so I'll need a new RODI as well. When it rain, it pours, literally.

 
Maxout

carpetlayer719

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 28, 2017
Messages
20
Reaction score
17
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Last night I went into the fish room to do a couple things and water was all over. NO signs of a leak anywhere. I checked it all everything looked good. I was even thinking something in the ceiling was leaking since the top of the RODI storage tub had water. I cleaned up for 3 hours at least with maybe 20-30 gallons. I still did not see any issues with the system so just for fun I turned it back on. Check out the video for what I found. Thankfully this only happens under pressure or else I would have been looking at 100s of gallons and an insurance claim. I am buying a water alarm TODAY. This is at least the 4th or 5th flood. The unit is 10 years old plus so I'll need a new RODI as well. When it rain, it pours, literally.

Good catch! I think I’ll go check mine.
 
OP
ReeferBob

ReeferBob

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
1,502
Reaction score
590
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Damascus, MD
Still damp this morning I added a fan to the mix. I ordered the below water alarm.

I think I can just get the RODI canisters and plan on replacing all 3 of them. If one went, the rest I am sure can.

alarm

1634920839406.png
 

LuisPerez711

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
139
Reaction score
125
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Sorry to hear about that. User error always seems to sting less because it could have been avoided. True equipment failure is always heart breaking.

Why replace the whole RODI unit? You can just replace the canister itself right? Or is this a chance for an upgrade?
 
OP
ReeferBob

ReeferBob

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
1,502
Reaction score
590
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Damascus, MD
Sorry to hear about that. User error always seems to sting less because it could have been avoided. True equipment failure is always heart breaking.

Why replace the whole RODI unit? You can just replace the canister itself right? Or is this a chance for an upgrade?

I figured it was old and beat anyway. I don't trust any of the canisters at this point. I can get 3 new canisters for $45. I do need a new membrane as well that is another $20. I can get a similar complete unit for $170 or so. Not sure what I'll do yet.
 

jgirardnrg

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 9, 2019
Messages
1,472
Reaction score
2,205
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Berlin, CT
I figured it was old and beat anyway. I don't trust any of the canisters at this point. I can get 3 new canisters for $45. I do need a new membrane as well that is another $20. I can get a similar complete unit for $170 or so. Not sure what I'll do yet.
If you're in the market, these are affordable and good quality. I have the 6 stage 150gpd unit from them which is $135. I believe they're out of Texas.
 
OP
ReeferBob

ReeferBob

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
1,502
Reaction score
590
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Damascus, MD
Thanks those prices are really good. I just bought 3 new housings though from Amazon under $15 each. I also did a post-mortem on the leaking canister and it has a crack (2 cracks actually) at the bottom. Not sure how this happened other than just age and stress from being under pressure.

1634924710478.png

1634924720425.png
 
Fritz
OP
ReeferBob

ReeferBob

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
1,502
Reaction score
590
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Damascus, MD
wow. Can you move the whole thing 2.5 feet to the left so that if it ever happens again it will drain into the sink?

That would have been a great idea had I done it initially. Hind-sight! I have the water alarm now on that area of the floor and with the new housings, hopefully this never happens again. I am wondering if my pressure is too high. I may need a step-down pressure valve before the RODI. My pressure in this house is crazy high.
 

jgirardnrg

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 9, 2019
Messages
1,472
Reaction score
2,205
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Berlin, CT
That would have been a great idea had I done it initially. Hind-sight! I have the water alarm now on that area of the floor and with the new housings, hopefully this never happens again. I am wondering if my pressure is too high. I may need a step-down pressure valve before the RODI. My pressure in this house is crazy high.
Pressure is a possible culprit. I sprung a leak in an O-ring and had to use a pressure regulator on my setup. Water from the street is around 135 psi and most of those canisters are listed as handling up to 120 psi.
 

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
51,558
Reaction score
115,316
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Wisconsin - Florida in several months
OP
ReeferBob

ReeferBob

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
1,502
Reaction score
590
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Damascus, MD
I got my nice, new, filter canisters yesterday. I was hoping they would fit into the existing caps so I didn't have to swap over the fittings but they are a totally different size. No biggie though I'll get 'er done.
 
OP
ReeferBob

ReeferBob

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
1,502
Reaction score
590
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Damascus, MD
Just replaced the cracked canister. No issues everything from the old one swapped over. I inspected the other two and they had no cracks at all so I did not replace them and will keep the other 2 new ones as spares. I also replaced the batteries in both the TDS meters (it has never been done in over 10 years) and seems like my membrane isn't doing much. I haven't replaced it in over 5 years so that makes sense it is totally worn out. I also left the DI resin out since it is 100% depleted as well. I ordered a new membrane and new DI resin. I had spare charcoal and stage 1 filters so once I get the other new filters I should be hopefully back to 0 TDS.

1635168346586.png


1635168318526.png

1635168328736.png
 
Corals.com

redfishbluefish

Stay Positive, Stay Productive
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
10,896
Reaction score
22,007
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Sayreville, NJ
Wow Bob! Glad you traced that down fairly quickly. I've seen that happen with folks who have the units in unheated spaces that take a freeze. Never saw it on one in a heated space though. I do know the canisters are not designed to take high pressure.....the one reason any pressure pumps get installed after the canisters. That said, I don't see a pressure pump on your system, but you mention you have high water pressure. If too high, get a regulator and turn it down. Otherwise, make sure your flipping out your filters yearly to assure they don't clog and cause a high pressure situation.

On a positive note, at least it wasn't tank water, which would of impacted corals and fish.
 

carpetlayer719

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 28, 2017
Messages
20
Reaction score
17
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Just replaced the cracked canister. No issues everything from the old one swapped over. I inspected the other two and they had no cracks at all so I did not replace them and will keep the other 2 new ones as spares. I also replaced the batteries in both the TDS meters (it has never been done in over 10 years) and seems like my membrane isn't doing much. I haven't replaced it in over 5 years so that makes sense it is totally worn out. I also left the DI resin out since it is 100% depleted as well. I ordered a new membrane and new DI resin. I had spare charcoal and stage 1 filters so once I get the other new filters I should be hopefully back to 0 TDS.

1635168346586.png


1635168318526.png

1635168328736.png
Good work Bob! Again Reminds me to check my rodi.
 
OP
ReeferBob

ReeferBob

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
1,502
Reaction score
590
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Damascus, MD
Good news. My new RO filter came in and brought my TDS down to 3. I also replaced the DI resin and now am at 0 TDS once again. Universe equilibrium has been restored. Kinda makes me wonder why I even have the DI though.

20211101_165946.jpg
20211101_165951.jpg
 
AI Hydra

Have you ever had a nano reef tank?

  • I have one now (leave a photo in the thread)

    Votes: 77 53.8%
  • Yes, but in the past

    Votes: 30 21.0%
  • No and no plans to have one

    Votes: 18 12.6%
  • No but I want to have one in the future

    Votes: 17 11.9%
  • Other

    Votes: 1 0.7%
Reef Chasers Aquaculture
Top