Do AIOs strip nitrate out of the water too much?

BRS

Ocean’s Piece

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 10, 2021
Messages
1,184
Reaction score
856
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Watching and Fiddling with my Reef
So my LFS owner told me today that AIOs tend to strip nitrates out of the water to the point where it’s too much even. I have been having a nitrate issue since forever (been 9 months since day 1) and it has never gone above 0 except after the cycle. Im skeptical that it’s the AIO that gets rid of these nitrates too efficiently and more of a filtration thing but it makes sense. Do a lot of you AIO owners agree with this too?
 
Reef Chasers Aquaculture

((FORDTECH))

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 23, 2020
Messages
2,651
Reaction score
2,102
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Chicago
So my LFS owner told me today that AIOs tend to strip nitrates out of the water to the point where it’s too much even. I have been having a nitrate issue since forever (been 9 months since day 1) and it has never gone above 0 except after the cycle. Im skeptical that it’s the AIO that gets rid of these nitrates too efficiently and more of a filtration thing but it makes sense. Do a lot of you AIO owners agree with this too?
Odds are you are not feeding nearly enough food to your fish. With that being said I would be careful about listening to that store anymore because they Are wrong aio has nothing to do with nitrates being removed to much. It has to do with the filtration
 

((FORDTECH))

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 23, 2020
Messages
2,651
Reaction score
2,102
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Chicago
I would have said the opposite. Most AIO’s can’t fit a good working skimmer since they don’t have a sump and run higher nitrates. That’s just my experience with the biocube. Maybe others have different experiences.
Yes exactly
 

jhuntstl

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 21, 2021
Messages
499
Reaction score
816
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
St. Louis
Nothing to do with it being an AIO and all about your filtration. People often do run a lot of media in AIO filtration chambers. You've got 3 or 4 rows so you might as well run GFO, carbon, purigen, and a poly pad. That's an exaggeration(kind of), but maaaaaybe that's what the LFS owner meant.
 
Maxout

jgirardnrg

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 9, 2019
Messages
1,483
Reaction score
2,218
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Berlin, CT
I have 2 tanks with drop in AIO kits on them (40 breeder and a 20 long). I use those for frag tanks right now and have to run a small skimmer to keep the NO3 under 10.

Tell us more about your setup and what you've got running for filtration.
 

olonmv

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 23, 2021
Messages
798
Reaction score
897
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Houston
It’s what is added into the chambers of an AIO that helps strip nutrients. AIO is just compact filtration system built into the display and does nothing more that circulate water through different chambers in and out of display.
 
OP
Ocean’s Piece

Ocean’s Piece

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 10, 2021
Messages
1,184
Reaction score
856
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Watching and Fiddling with my Reef
I would have said the opposite. Most AIO’s can’t fit a good working skimmer since they don’t have a sump and run higher nitrates. That’s just my experience with the biocube. Maybe others have different experiences.
I got a coralife protein skimmer in there and despite what people say, the v2 is an absolute tank.
Odds are you are not feeding nearly enough food to your fish. With that being said I would be careful about listening to that store anymore because they Are wrong aio has nothing to do with nitrates being removed to much. It has to do with the filtration
I feed too much. I just checked today and I have .26 phosphates. Now granted, that was right before a water change but still a little too much. 0 nitrate. Haven’t dosed anything because no problems have arisen from it and corals grow fine.
Nothing to do with it being an AIO and all about your filtration. People often do run a lot of media in AIO filtration chambers. You've got 3 or 4 rows so you might as well run GFO, carbon, purigen, and a poly pad. That's an exaggeration(kind of), but maaaaaybe that's what the LFS owner meant.
maybe so. I only have some polyfil, chemi pure blue, and some excess live rock.
 
Tidal Gardens
OP
Ocean’s Piece

Ocean’s Piece

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 10, 2021
Messages
1,184
Reaction score
856
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Watching and Fiddling with my Reef
I have 2 tanks with drop in AIO kits on them (40 breeder and a 20 long). I use those for frag tanks right now and have to run a small skimmer to keep the NO3 under 10.

Tell us more about your setup and what you've got running for filtration.
Coralife V2 Protein skimmer
Polyfil as mechanical filtration
Chemi pure blue
Extra Live rock
 

Brody’s Reef

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Dec 12, 2019
Messages
48
Reaction score
70
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Altamont, IL
If your Phosphates are higher but nitrates are still zero it could have something to do with the food you're feeding. What are you feeding and are you adding any extra coral foods? May not be the case but I know reef roids and some other foods tend to raise phosphates a lot.

Also, I would second what others have said. It has nothing to do with it being an AIO it's just about the filtration vs. bio load
 
OP
Ocean’s Piece

Ocean’s Piece

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 10, 2021
Messages
1,184
Reaction score
856
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Watching and Fiddling with my Reef
If your Phosphates are higher but nitrates are still zero it could have something to do with the food you're feeding. What are you feeding and are you adding any extra coral foods? May not be the case but I know reef roids and some other foods tend to raise phosphates a lot.

Also, I would second what others have said. It has nothing to do with it being an AIO it's just about the filtration vs. bio load
Ocean nutrition flakes. No coral food.
 
Lazy's Coral House

Toys For Kids Drive

Untitled-2 copy.jpg

BRS

Have you ever had a nano reef tank?

  • I have one now (leave a photo in the thread)

    Votes: 222 46.0%
  • Yes, but in the past

    Votes: 107 22.2%
  • No and no plans to have one

    Votes: 82 17.0%
  • No but I want to have one in the future

    Votes: 64 13.3%
  • Other

    Votes: 8 1.7%
WWC
Top