Do I really need to treat this blue hippo?

Rawsreef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone, do I really need to quarantine AND TREAT this fish?

I have been reefing for almost 2 years now never have I quarantined.

yesterday I bought this beautiful blue hippo at the LFS. The fish is currently in a separate tank because everyone recommended I quarantine it because they’re known for ich.

Now I’ve never quarantined a fish but I will if I absolutely must.

The fish looks good, no white spots and is eating. But is hiding a lot I’m assuming its just stressing a bit from all the moving it around.

After staying up and reading online I found out there’s ich, flukes, velvet, and a ton of other stuff I need to worry about… scary stuff

if I do quarantine I have copper power on hand, but I’m not sure if this will take care of all the possibilities. I was also told to use general cure after treating with copper. Is all this really necessary for a healthy looking fish? Or would observing it for a couple of weeks be good enough?

Partially worried because Im not even sure if all the fish in the current display are 100% clean since I’ve never quarantined and I don’t think the previous owner did either. Every one looks and acts healthy. 8F982385-EBAB-4DA5-8BA9-536BB964E112.png

Attachments

• IMG_4190.MOV
    28.6 MB

Sharkbait19

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There’s too many diseases to worry about not to quarantine imo. All it takes is one sick fish to kill them all.
The typical qt protocol treats for ich, velvet, and flukes, which are the most common illnesses you’ll see. Copper takes care of velvet and ich, and prazi takes care of flukes.
A fish may never have a disease from the beginning of qt, but it’s well worth ensuring that it doesn’t. Often it doesn’t show until you have the fish home and in the tank.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0