Do you want to re-aquascape your reef tank? Click ahead!

BRS

Have you ever re-aquascaped your reef tank and were you happy with the results?

  • YES and I was happy

    Votes: 159 40.8%
  • YES but not happy

    Votes: 38 9.7%
  • No but am thinking about it

    Votes: 124 31.8%
  • No I have not and will not

    Votes: 50 12.8%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 19 4.9%

  • Total voters
    390

The_Skrimp

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 11, 2020
Messages
213
Reaction score
199
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Georgia
I wish I could but I don't want to sacrifice the biological filtration on my rocks now that they've aged in this tank. I did a good job of making it look like a solid reefscape instead of a stack of rocks but after learning more about what can be done with super glue to create an NSA rock scape, I definitely do wish I could change it up. I'll probably wait till I'm able to do a tank upgrade and then use what I've learned to make it as perfect as I can.
 

ReefGeezer

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 9, 2009
Messages
642
Reaction score
769
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Wichita, KS
Before & After
 

Attachments

  • 20200121_182011.jpg
    20200121_182011.jpg
    182.9 KB · Views: 95
  • 20210623_203013.jpg
    20210623_203013.jpg
    147.7 KB · Views: 94

Staghorn

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
695
Reaction score
1,180
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
West Palm Beach FL
Will be breaking down the tank soon to incorporate the new stand and sump and I decided to eliminate the corner over flow and switch to an external so I will be changing my scape and hopefully have room for a couple more Acros in the future. Hope to have all this done by thanksgiving!!!
 

gray808

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 13, 2019
Messages
263
Reaction score
163
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Seattle & Ashland, OR
Yes.
I liked what I had, but over the months, decided it was "too much". Just too many piles of rock.

So I broke down and pulled it all out and re-did it, and now I love it. Lots of caves, lots of nooks and crannies, paths and open areas.

--Gray
 

GoTakeANap

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 24, 2012
Messages
1,040
Reaction score
281
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
South Carolina
I've re-aquascaped in the past and hated it everytime. I've never liked the rockwork I have came up with until the tank I am working on now. I have been scaping for over 2 weeks on the new tank and have changed it several times but I am taking my time on this new tank being it will be the last one I upgrade to.
 

FrontRangeReefer

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 8, 2020
Messages
95
Reaction score
109
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Aurora, CO
I’m not sure if I’d consider it “rescaping”, but I had to remove nearly all my rocks to catch a pesky cleaner shrimp that I believe damaged one of my wall hammers. In the end, I got him out of the tank and put the rocks back in. The silver lining in all this was that when I put it all back together, I was able to rearrange the rocks away from the glass such that I could clean the glass without issue. ;)
 

navada718

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 16, 2020
Messages
78
Reaction score
206
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Brooklyn
I sure did. My 1st scape was too much rock & tall. Unrealistic for keeping Corals. My 2nd scape is more coral friendly
 

Attachments

  • 20201115_062602.jpg
    20201115_062602.jpg
    164.2 KB · Views: 86
  • Screenshot_20210530-155130_Messenger.jpg
    Screenshot_20210530-155130_Messenger.jpg
    126.6 KB · Views: 94
  • Screenshot_20210530-155219_Messenger.jpg
    Screenshot_20210530-155219_Messenger.jpg
    443.2 KB · Views: 93
  • Screenshot_20210530-155157_Messenger.jpg
    Screenshot_20210530-155157_Messenger.jpg
    445.3 KB · Views: 87
  • Screenshot_20210530-155235_Messenger.jpg
    Screenshot_20210530-155235_Messenger.jpg
    437.8 KB · Views: 87
  • 20210616_122226.jpg
    20210616_122226.jpg
    205.8 KB · Views: 97

Wieloch89

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 7, 2017
Messages
439
Reaction score
339
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Love your aquascape!!!! What kind of glue did you use?
I used the BRS glue. It’s more of a gel so it holds up nice. They sell an accelerant also that bonds the pieces together in a few seconds instead of having to hold the pieces together until it dries. Really cool process.
 

Calm Blue Ocean

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 17, 2020
Messages
815
Reaction score
1,152
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I so much want to rescape my tank but I am way too scared to try it. It's not that I hate my rock work but it's turned out to be problematic for coral placement. It's hard to not have shadowing and the top is just too tall. I think I know how to fix it but with the disruption to the existing corals and fish I'm not sure it's worth the risks. Lesson learned for the next tank (you know there will be a next tank, there is always a next tank).
 

underthereef

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
May 15, 2021
Messages
27
Reaction score
11
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
southern california
Not a “re-scape” but decided to change it up on my second tank instead of the rock piles. Smashed up perfectly good rock and glue it back together how I wanted it 9C825FF1-0E9A-4CA3-BB80-D05C0D74635B.jpeg D3CA8D7F-3030-42C2-8A0C-5CA4D92B4EA4.jpeg 2BD3B911-3299-48B3-8950-230B3643F69B.jpeg 28892B21-A300-4112-93F6-DD0559C22B90.jpeg E7738441-4178-4F28-B350-07CB575D0991.jpeg
What are some tips you have for achieving this look?! I am getting ready to do my first saltwater aquascape for my new 180G reef tank and I am worried about being able to create something like this that looks good. Lol. But I really want to do something like this rather than piling a bunch of rocks.
 

vlangel

Seahorse whisperer
View Badges
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
4,041
Reaction score
2,645
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
I actually just got done with a soft rescape this afternoon! My aquascape has 3 tiers of different depth sandbed. Unfortunately I got a pistol shrimp which was a bad idea for my scape, LOL. Rice Krispie relocates the sand nightly so my lovely tiers had turned into rolling hills of sand.

What I did was fill 2 buckets half full of tank water and took out all the rock and coral that were not foundation pieces. Some of my largest most dense rock is a retaining wall for the DSB portion. That allowed me to repair the breeches in my retaining wall so I could restore the tiered effect of the sandbed. It also helped me wash the detritus off the coral and rock that were in the buckets. Now with everything back in the display (slightly different because I can never get it back exactly like it was) the tank looks much better. I was able to clean the glass more effective and when the water clears it will have a much cleaner look.

One big caution however! Always check the bucket of now dirty water for creatures that may have been in the rock and fell out. I found 2 fish, and a pom pom crab in the water that I was discarding.
 

hotdrop

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Messages
537
Reaction score
516
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I definitely made the rookie mistake of too many rocks. I’m slowly removing the ugly ones and that’s helped improve flow a lot. Still if I could id pull a bunch and drill them and do stuff to cut off extra bits
 

[email protected]

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 27, 2017
Messages
237
Reaction score
138
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Phoenix
Did not really know what I was doing the 1st time around (still don't, but I think it will be better). I am in the final stages on my re-scape - the rock is curing now - so it is already built. Been curing about 3 weeks now. has another 9 days. then the work begins again. In the meantime more tank maint.
 

navada718

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 16, 2020
Messages
78
Reaction score
206
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Brooklyn
I used the BRS glue. It’s more of a gel so it holds up nice. They sell an accelerant also that bonds the pieces together in a few seconds instead of having to hold the pieces together until it dries. Really cool process.
Thanks. I used Professional Grade Cyanoacrylate (CA)"Super Glue" by Glue Masters, Bob Smith accelerator & E marco 400 motor. Oh & Fritz turbo start to cycle the new scape. Which wasn't necessary considering the tank has been running for 7 months, but I wanted to be safe.
 

69mopargirl

New Member
View Badges
Joined
May 21, 2021
Messages
1
Reaction score
1
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
17053
I'm rescaping right now. My kids helped me build it for Mother's Day and I just sold off a lot of my old rock and overgrown corals so I can essentially start over. I'm super excited about it. Putting the new rock in next weekend and moving everything around
 
BRS

Do you quarantine new coral before adding it to your reef tank?

  • YES always

    Votes: 79 18.0%
  • Sometimes depending (tell us why)

    Votes: 52 11.8%
  • NO never

    Votes: 295 67.2%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 13 3.0%
NY
Top