Dosing Red Sea Reef Energy AB+ in Fluval Evo

jmfc5

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all, newbie here. I want to start dosing Red Sea Reef energy AB+ to my Fluval Evo 13.5. I do not have a protein skimmer or internal powerhead but I did upgrade the return pump to a sicce 1.0. The filtration I am using in order is filter floss, carbon bag and marinepure gems. Do I need to turn off the return pump prior to dosing this product or can I leave it on to circulate the water? I don't know if the filter floss or carbon would absorb the reef energy or not.

maleks.reef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Redsea AB+ is basically a blend of amino acids. According to some reefers, yes it can take out some of the amino acids, however, according to this site (https://www.desotec.com/en/carbonol...no-acid-purification-through-activated-carbon) they use carbon to clean and purify amino acids. I plan on dosing red sea AB+ as well, and I run carbon all the time. What I might do is that i will turn off my return for like 10 minutes and then just turn it back on. Im sure many people dose amino acids with carbon in the tank without any issues. Also, your tank has very minimal filtration so be careful when dosing AB+, start with a quarter of the dose for a week to see how your tank reacts. You wouldn't want your nutrients to spike because of it. As for the filter floss, no i don't think it will affect your AB+.

Maybe someone who has actual scientific evidence can chime in.

Nick Steele

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I use ab+ in my Nuvo 20. I turn my returns off just so it can sit within the tank for awhile. I turn off for 10 mins which is the feed mode on my controller.

dedragon

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0