End of Quarantine Tank Question

Califish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello All,

I am new to reef aquarium for about a year and a half now. I currently have a 40 gallon display tank that is up and running now for this time. I made a lot of mistakes by not quarantining my fish. I have learned my lesson. A major fish loss last year. Now I have a 10 gallon quarantine tank with 2 baby Clarke Clownfish and 2 baby Banggai Cardinals. They have been in quarantine for 33 days now. I have followed Humblefish's procedure precisely. Over the last 2 days I made 50% water changes to bring the copper down. I am also running a Aqueon HOB filter with carbon and also a filter bag with Seachem Coprisorb hung over the powerhead.

I used the Hanna Checker Copper Tester throughout this process. Today the copper measured 0.9ppm. I know that a lot of folks, including Humblefish, recommends a 2 week observation time. I am kinda itching at the bit now. Does the quarantine tank need to be at 0 ppm of copper before I move them to the display tank?

Your help is appreciated!

Jeff

Fish Think Pink

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello All,

I am new to reef aquarium for about a year and a half now. I currently have a 40 gallon display tank that is up and running now for this time. I made a lot of mistakes by not quarantining my fish. I have learned my lesson. A major fish loss last year. Now I have a 10 gallon quarantine tank with 2 baby Clarke Clownfish and 2 baby Banggai Cardinals. They have been in quarantine for 33 days now. I have followed Humblefish's procedure precisely. Over the last 2 days I made 50% water changes to bring the copper down. I am also running a Aqueon HOB filter with carbon and also a filter bag with Seachem Coprisorb hung over the powerhead.