Equipment needed to setup a 48x24x10 frag tank

dannylez

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys.

I recently got a used acrylic tank 48x24x10 with 2 corners drilled (1 3/4") in each for $120 which I thought was a good price. I'm going to be using it as a frag tank for zoas, palsy, other soft corals and LPS.

1. What would be the best size and type of sump for this size tank (approx 50 gallons)?
2. what size pump would i need?
3. what additional equipment would you recommend (skimmers, reactors, etc.)
4. For lighting, it was recommended to get HO T5s for growth with LED strips to bring out the colors . Would this be adequate?

Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I don't want to screw this up and I'm relatively new to the hobby.

Thanks for your help and suggestions.
:squigglemouth::ear:

Reefing Madness

Carbon Doser
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
#1- As big a sump as you could fit where ever your going to be placing the tank, the bigger, the cleaner your water will be.
#2- for a 50g tank, for frags, you need flow, I'd go with 800gph to 1200gph in powerheads
#3- Heater, Skimmer rated for over 100g, calcium reactor, GFO reactor, unless your going to dose Lanthanum, doser for Mag and Alk
#4- T5 HO with LED sups will do nicely.
#5- Either timers for your equipment or a Reef Controller for all the things your going to add, to make it fully automated.

OP
OP
D

dannylez

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
48x24x10 frag tank

Thanks for all the info. This will be a great start on what I will need to buy.

I'm going to be building the stand so I can plan ahead if I can select the sump first.

I do have more questions if you don't mind. I'm sure I will have tons more as my build progresses.

1. being it's only a 10" tank what wattage and how many T5s should I get and what height above the water surface?
2. what type of white and actinic bulbs?