Equipment Wires In The Display: Do you really care?

BRS

Do you care about having equipment wires showing in your reef tank display?

  • Very much

    Votes: 346 37.2%
  • Somewhat

    Votes: 469 50.5%
  • Not at all

    Votes: 109 11.7%
  • Other

    Votes: 5 0.5%

  • Total voters
    929

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Joined
May 8, 2006
Messages
42,073
Reaction score
62,857
I've always been one that hated the looks of equipment and wires in the tank. But lately more than ever I have come to realize with equipment limitations, coral placement, aquascape options and more things that it can become inevitable that you may have to have wires in the display. But who really cares?

1. Do you care about having equipment wires showing in your reef tank display?

2. What are some creative ways you've found to minimize wires showing?



Amazing reef by @Broadfield
29403166626_0f58264578_k.jpg
 

Cell

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 20, 2019
Messages
5,144
Reaction score
8,767
I think all else the same, everyone would choose no wires over wires, but in reality, going completely wireless is not without it's drawbacks. Worth noting, if it's your own tank or one you frequently view, you tend to get used to something like wires and don't even notice them after awhile.
 

sp1187

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 4, 2017
Messages
4,221
Reaction score
19,001
Location
Grand Blanc MI
1. Do you care about having equipment wires showing in your reef tank display?

not only wires, any and all equipment. I have never understood why people make beautiful scapes, have all this beautiful coral and fish and are ok with wires, pumps, heaters, overflows... showing. but to each their own as they say.

2. What are some creative ways you've found to minimize wires showing?

aquascape design hides everything. the thought that your scape can be too high in areas is complete non-sense.
my scape brakes the surface in one corner. (hides the return line. two of my bta's have taken up residence right at the surface.

rear upper left corner.: return line, gyre 230 vertical just below it.
rear right corner: heater and gyre 230 vertical
over flow right side glass

the scape
scape.jpg


standing in front of the tank (2020)
052120.jpg


from the fish room



1201B.jpg


from where I sit most nights
010221.jpg
 

MnFish1

10K Club member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
10,185
Reaction score
11,196
1. Do you care about having equipment wires showing in your reef tank display?
Not compulsively so - but I don't like them - I only have them attached to my gyres on each side of the tank - so they are barely visible

2. What are some creative ways you've found to minimize wires showing?
Buying equipment that does not require wires in the tank (i.e. one advantage of having a sump) - have a background on the tank - so that wires going down the back are not seen. Anchor the wires to the edge of the tank. Use coral, etc to hide them. I prefer a black background (in a no sump tank) - because black wires are less visible as well.
 

Barnabie Mejia

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 10, 2019
Messages
491
Reaction score
963
Location
El Paso, Texas/ Chamberino, New Mexico
08 11 2020.jpg


I can't stand wires in the tank!!! I had a 29 gallon and it was a visual mess because of heater, power head, pump etc CORDS!! when I started building this tank, I wanted it to be clean and cordless thus the MP 40 and 10! I have even let the OCD get out of hand and the cords in the sump area are hidden away nice and neat, its amazing what the right choice of colors will do!!!

but to answer your question, Yes I really do care haha
 

Reefs and Geeks

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 2, 2019
Messages
689
Reaction score
681
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
When I got into the hobby I was surprised by how many wires there were on a running tank, and didn't like them. My girlfriend (now wife) hated all of the wires in the tank. as the years go on, I've just accepted them and gotten used to them. Not to say I like them, but they don't bother me any more. I just put a canopy on my display and keep powerheads near the top and it's not a big deal. open top would be a different story I suspect.
 

Joe31415

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
180
Reaction score
88
Location
Milwaukee
But a few cords in the tank for the wave makers is unavoidable.
Get an eco tech Vortech powerhead and you can avoid it. The 'motor' sits outside the tank and only the fan part is inside. The rotor and stator are magnetically coupled through the glass. They're powerful, move a lot of water and can be programmed to make waves, but even the smallest one is $300, so they're not cheap. And if you have a background you don't even see the motor or wire behind the tank. All you see is the small 'wetside' of the pump.
 

LegendaryCG

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 22, 2019
Messages
1,332
Reaction score
1,657
Location
Fond Du Lac, WI
Get an eco tech Vortech powerhead and you can avoid it. The 'motor' sits outside the tank and only the fan part is inside. The rotor and stator are magnetically coupled through the glass. They're powerful, move a lot of water and can be programmed to make waves, but even the smallest one is $300, so they're not cheap. And if you have a background you don't even see the motor or wire behind the tank. All you see is the small 'wetside' of the pump.
And more importantly they remove an electrical component from your tank.
 

MONTANTK

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 9, 2020
Messages
558
Reaction score
378
Location
Buffalo
The only wires I generally have in my tanks is the powerhead. I like the Nero because it has a sleek looking wire and the pump has an all around slim profile. I prefer the vortechs because of the fact there is no wire but then you deal with the driver and wire on the outside of the tank. So I guess yes I care about wires in the tank but as long as my livestock is happy and the tank looks presentable I’m happy
 

Vette67

Reefing since 1997
View Badges
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
1,017
Reaction score
2,864
Location
North Olmsted, Ohio
I would prefer no wires, but with a basement sump, a closed loop recirculating pump would be way more plumbing than I would care to bother with. I suppose I could do something under my tank, but another problem ls the bottom of my tank is tempered glass, so I can’t drill it, never mind the logistics of emptying 180 gallons of water.

So wires it is....
 

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Joined
Aug 14, 2016
Messages
22,347
Reaction score
60,234
Location
Decatur, AL
I thought I would care, and I even used to care. Unless you have a minimalist aquascape the cords attract almost no attention. The coral and fish distract from the cords on the side and/or back of the tank. Complete non issue for me now. I bet most people who look at my tank don't even notice the gyres, let alone their cords.
 

Quietman

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
2,301
Reaction score
9,730
Location
Indiana - born and bred
Ran both wireless and wired, even ran some big ol Sicce AC Voyager pumps in my RSR 170 for a while. Run Tunze Turbelle stream now and even have a temp probe in display. One thing I found is that my eye only sees corals and fish after a few days or less. The Voyagers pushed that a tad too far for me. Primary factor now is what flow I want over "clean" appearance.... within reason.
 
BRS

So what do you think about running carbon as a filter for your aquariums?

  • Underrated

    Votes: 39 14.1%
  • Overrated

    Votes: 39 14.1%
  • Just Right

    Votes: 199 71.8%

Online statistics

Members online
2,627
Guests online
6,640
Total visitors
9,267
Top