Equipment Wires In The Display: Do you really care?

BRS

Do you care about having equipment wires showing in your reef tank display?

  • Very much

    Votes: 346 37.2%
  • Somewhat

    Votes: 469 50.5%
  • Not at all

    Votes: 109 11.7%
  • Other

    Votes: 5 0.5%

  • Total voters
    929

burningmime

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 21, 2020
Messages
256
Reaction score
331
Location
Montana
One thing I read on this forum (forgot who said it) that got me thinking... are cords on the outside (for a vortech pump) so much better than cords on the inside? They're sometimes a little easier to hide or you can have shorter runs. But then you got a giant pump motor sticking off the side.

(EDIT: the real advantage of the vortechs, IMO, is ease of cleaning by swapping wet sides and more reliability cause you don't have the motor submerged in saltwater. So there are reasons to get Vortech besides the cord hiding)

1. Do you care about having equipment wires showing in your reef tank display?

not only wires, any and all equipment. I have never understood why people make beautiful scapes, have all this beautiful coral and fish and are ok with wires, pumps, heaters, overflows... showing. but to each their own as they say.

2. What are some creative ways you've found to minimize wires showing?

aquascape design hides everything. the thought that your scape can be too high in areas is complete non-sense.
my scape brakes the surface in one corner. (hides the return line. two of my bta's have taken up residence right at the surface.

rear upper left corner.: return line, gyre 230 vertical just below it.
rear right corner: heater and gyre 230 vertical
over flow right side glass

the scape
scape.jpg


standing in front of the tank (2020)
052120.jpg


from the fish room



1201B.jpg


from where I sit most nights
010221.jpg
Now *that* is a smart way to hide the equipment. Looks very natural. Doesn't hurt that the reef is completely awesome too.
 

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
13,142
Reaction score
94,192
Location
Central Florida, USA
Since many of my tanks are primarily functional I am not particularly concerned about seeing wires in the tank. With a display tank this become more of a concern and I try (when possible) to build the structure to block the view of the wires.
 

Joe31415

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
180
Reaction score
88
Location
Milwaukee
And more importantly they remove an electrical component from your tank.
And a saltwater tank at that. Just this morning I noted that I have 9 electrical devices submerged in saltwater, between my tank, sump, ATO and saltwater mixing container.
And more than once I've had heaters crack open, but continue to operate. It was only after a day or two of hearing the sizzling noise did I finally investigate.
 

Joe31415

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
180
Reaction score
88
Location
Milwaukee
A couple black wires running to a black background from wavemakers isn’t a big deal. Let’s be honest here, is it any more distracting than a giant wart on the outside of the tank?
We all get used to them and don't really notice it anymore, but the giant wart on the back of the tank from an eco tech vortech pump isn't visible if you have a background between the motor and the glass. If they weren't so expensive, I'd have more of them.
 

SoggyNW

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 9, 2019
Messages
197
Reaction score
332
Location
Wenatchee
Get an eco tech Vortech powerhead and you can avoid it. The 'motor' sits outside the tank and only the fan part is inside. The rotor and stator are magnetically coupled through the glass. They're powerful, move a lot of water and can be programmed to make waves, but even the smallest one is $300, so they're not cheap. And if you have a background you don't even see the motor or wire behind the tank. All you see is the small 'wetside' of the pump.
I saw a tank with Vortechs on it and I was not impressed. Way noisier than my Jebaos.
 

Joe31415

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
180
Reaction score
88
Location
Milwaukee
I saw a tank with Vortechs on it and I was not impressed. Way noisier than my Jebaos.
I have an MP10 and can't hear a thing, at least not at the 60% setting that I have it at. If I ramp it up to 100% I think I can start to hear it humming but it's no louder than any other pump.
The ones you saw might have been bigger than mine or turned up higher or closer to the surface or not coupled exactly right (sometimes you need to turn it a little to get rid of some of the vibration) or not using/needing the rubber part that goes between the motor and the glass.

But at least with mine, the only time I hear it is if I'm really close to it (like, have my head within feet of the tank) or it's turned up closer to 100%.
 

Bleigh

The lich queen
View Badges
Joined
Jan 15, 2019
Messages
7,234
Reaction score
18,928
Location
Charlotte, NC
I hate all the wires. Particularly my wire nest to the right of my tank. I wish there was an easier and more elegant way to keep it all contained.
 

SoggyNW

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 9, 2019
Messages
197
Reaction score
332
Location
Wenatchee
I have an MP10 and can't hear a thing, at least not at the 60% setting that I have it at. If I ramp it up to 100% I think I can start to hear it humming but it's no louder than any other pump.
The ones you saw might have been bigger than mine or turned up higher or closer to the surface or not coupled exactly right (sometimes you need to turn it a little to get rid of some of the vibration) or not using/needing the rubber part that goes between the motor and the glass.

But at least with mine, the only time I hear it is if I'm really close to it (like, have my head within feet of the tank) or it's turned up closer to 100%.
I'll have to pay closer attention next time I spot one.
 

design.maddie

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
152
Reaction score
177
Location
CENLA
I'm in the None-at-all boat. I was SUPER obsessed with the wire thing back in the 2000's I went with the full recirculation pumps with even minimalizing the outlets visibility from the front. All you could see was rocks, coral and fish. Was it worth it? NOPE! it did nothing. why? because I still know where everything is at. Hidden or not, I know where every piece of equipment in my tank is at. There is no getting around it. NOW! my new obsession is clean lines. I want nothing near or around my tank. No wires hanging off the side. No external motors for MP40s. I enjoy it much more than worrying about 2 wires inside my tank that are covered in the same algae as my black background.
 

LenG

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 16, 2019
Messages
23
Reaction score
18
My black background, black power heads mounted on the back and black return nozzles are cleaned weekly and mostly invisible.
 

sp1187

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 4, 2017
Messages
4,223
Reaction score
19,002
Location
Grand Blanc MI
One thing I read on this forum (forgot who said it) that got me thinking... are cords on the outside (for a vortech pump) so much better than cords on the inside? They're sometimes a little easier to hide or you can have shorter runs. But then you got a giant pump motor sticking off the side.

(EDIT: the real advantage of the vortechs, IMO, is ease of cleaning by swapping wet sides and more reliability cause you don't have the motor submerged in saltwater. So there are reasons to get Vortech besides the cord hiding)


Now *that* is a smart way to hide the equipment. Looks very natural. Doesn't hurt that the reef is completely awesome too.
thanks. :cool:
 

ricksmithsdca

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 19, 2020
Messages
113
Reaction score
327
Location
San Diego
I've always been one that hated the looks of equipment and wires in the tank. But lately more than ever I have come to realize with equipment limitations, coral placement, aquascape options and more things that it can become inevitable that you may have to have wires in the display. But who really cares?

1. Do you care about having equipment wires showing in your reef tank display?

2. What are some creative ways you've found to minimize wires showing?



Amazing reef by @Broadfield
29403166626_0f58264578_k.jpg
I am new to the saltwater aquarium hobby but I must admit, I am thrilled to have a sump with everything out of view except my powerheads. Inevitably the wires, albeit small, are in my tank. Luckily I have a black background so they kind of blend in on their own. In addition, I have them both on my corner overflow so the wires do not look haphazard. I am going to be placing an inkbird on my heater and I plan on putting the temperature probes in the main display tank so that I can better track the temperature there versus my sump. However, again, I can place these in a way that they are not very visible.
 

zalick

A cup of water and a dash of salt
View Badges
Joined
May 29, 2014
Messages
967
Reaction score
973
Location
Portland
All things equal I'd chose no wires. But considering my tank is a peninsula, in the middle of my house, and I can see my dining room and kitchen through the tank, the wires aren't what makes it look less "real". :p
 

radiata

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
843
Reaction score
539
I've always been one that hated the looks of equipment and wires in the tank. But lately more than ever I have come to realize with equipment limitations, coral placement, aquascape options and more things that it can become inevitable that you may have to have wires in the display. But who really cares?

1. Do you care about having equipment wires showing in your reef tank display?

2. What are some creative ways you've found to minimize wires showing?



Amazing reef by @Broadfield
29403166626_0f58264578_k.jpg
 

radiata

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
843
Reaction score
539
VERY MUCH!

I have four Reef Octopus Octo Pulse 4 Wave Pumps, two Sicce XStream Powerheads (not the SDC, but the previous model) and one battery backed up Tunze 6055 in my 180. The Octo Pulses and the Sicces are controlled by my Apex. You can't see any of these pumps from in front of my tank. They're all hidden in the rockwork.
 

ca1ore

10K Club member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
12,761
Reaction score
17,723
Location
Stamford, CT
1. Do you care about having equipment wires showing in your reef tank display?

I dislike wires in the display.

2. What are some creative ways you've found to minimize wires showing?

Use the overflow for sensors and probes. Use vortech pumps. Anything else goes in the sump.
 
BRS

So what do you think about running carbon as a filter for your aquariums?

  • Underrated

    Votes: 40 13.7%
  • Overrated

    Votes: 43 14.7%
  • Just Right

    Votes: 209 71.6%

Online statistics

Members online
2,698
Guests online
6,536
Total visitors
9,234
LRS
Top