First ever tank build (Waterbox 50.3 AIO Peninsula) Help Needed!

Imthatguybrandon

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone,

I am new to the hobby and would like your experience and support on the current status of my build. To note, as of right now I have only purchased the Waterbox 50.3 AIO Peninsula tank and stand combo that is currently on the way. I do however, have a ton of items sitting in my cart from various retailers and just want to be sure before I hit that "sweet check-out button". Finally, I don't need to have "top of line" for everything, I am fine spending a decent amount on key important items, but I am also willing the take a more budget approach on others items and gradually swap things out as I become more seasoned.

**Prices are in CDN since I am a Canadian "Eh" **
  • Tank: Waterbox 50.3 AIO + stand ($1,399.20)

• Return Pump: Going through a few build guides it seems like a lot of people have been selecting the Sicce Syncra 1.5 Pump - 357 GPH and I have also seen a few recommendations about getting the Sicce Syncra SDC 3.0 Wifi Controllable Pump. From what I understand, the return pump is like the heartbeat of my tank so open to spending a bit more for quality and durability.
    • Sicce Syncra 1.5 Pump - 357 GPH ($97.99)
    • Sicce Syncra SDC 3.0 Wifi Controllable Pump ($349.99)
  • Filtration: Since this is an AIO tank, I am planning to use what's given for now and maybe look at a skimmer down the road. I do plan on removing the sock for a filter cup/filter floss or sponge option as I do not really feel like doing excessive laundry every few days. Let me know if this is an okay approach for now.