First fish after cycling tank

Hudsonfo

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi;

I have just set up my new Red Sea reefer 525l; I’m not a complete newbie but it’s been over 10 years since I have had a marine tank.

I have used live sand and I’m planning on using Dr Tims with ammonia to cycle the tank.

I am just wondering about recommendations for a first fish once it’s cycled; I don’t really want to throw something in the tank that’s not in my long term plan and it seems that most of the fish I want are semi aggresive - my first thought was a yellow watchman goby but also thought something that will eat algae like a foxface would be a really good choice;

I’m just concerned if I reach the end of my cycle and haven’t quarantined anything then my cycle could kinda stall as there’s nothing feeding the bacteria - unless I keep dosing ammonia…

have u got any recommendations?

Also with regards to tomato clownfish; what are your experiences? I used to have some that were never aggresive but everybody I have spoken to recently seems to think that they are! Can u reckoned any other clownfish species that aren’t AS aggresive as tomato’s but not Percula/oscellaris - allards? Clarkii?

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This will help in planning: no cycle has ever starved out that was set in and proved in motion. They self feed as contaminations get in from the home surrounding, via the non sealed open top on any tank

and if anyone reading can post me one single clear case example of that happening in a reef tank cycle, a starve back to unable, I’ll PayPal you a thirty dollar bounty if the example is clear and not api lacking a tan conversion post off google page 132 lol