First Reef Tank - A logbook/History - Biocube 14gal

Zazvor92

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My first build !
Im new to reef keeping but grew up with my dad keeping a 150 gal for many years.
I was given a biocube 14 for free and decided to jump in and give reef keeping a try!
Id like this build log to be somewhat of an online journal of sorts to be a history of the tanks life and evolution.

My tank is now 3.5 weeks old.
Live sand, dry rock, and API Quickstart was added 10/02/22.
Rock and sand.jpg
A few days later my ammonia and nitrite were at 0ppm and Nitrate was about 10 ppm. Figured I was ready to add a single clown and hope the tank continued to cycle. At this same time (On advice from my LFS) I also added two blue legged hermits, a scarlet hermit, a trochus snail and a nassarius snail. About a week later the trochus snail died and i removed quickly to avoid an ammonia spike. I believe the snail didn't have enough food as there wasn't really any algae at this point. The other CUC seemed to be doing fine though.
At this point, I wasn't very happy with how hot the lighting was so i opted to remove the stock lights from the Biocube and retrofit a Fuval Nano into the lid of the biocube.
led in place.jpg
Check out my short DIY thread on how that took place.

Fast forward a few weeks and I decided to try adding some corals, a local reef keeper sold me a few great pieces of GSP for $10. Within 24hrs it was open and looking awesome!
Added GSP.jpg
(Note the brown that i suspect is Diatoms, all gone as of 10/27/22)
This boosted my confidence and so i took advantage of a weekend sale at the LFS and got three frags for $23:
A "Wam-N-Watermelon" Zoanthid (Yellow and Pink 13 polyps)
A "Ruby Rain" Zoanthid (Blue and Orange ~22 polyps)
A "Candy Apple" palythoa (Green and Red)
Added zoas and paly.jpg
Right after feeding the corals some frozen food. Still working on getting better pictures with my iphone.

Tank from front.jpg