First tank 20g stocking

trelise

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys!

I'm new to saltwater and still trying to learn the hobby fully. I've been in freshwater for a while but now expanding into this!
I haven't bought a tank yet, but I'm looking for at least 20 gallons or bigger. I will start as a FOWLR tank and then begin to add corals after a few months.

Here is my idea of what will stock so far:
2x occelaris clowns
1x yellow clown goby
1x cleaner shrimp
4x turbo snails
1x anemone if possible?

Does this sound okay? I think in freshwater you can stock more compared to saltwater, possibly because of the size of fish, so I'm trying to be careful not to overstock. Also Is my clean up crew good enough? Should I add some more snails or another shrimp? Maybe a peppermint shrimp - although I have heard they can pick on anemones.
Does anyone have any suggestions for 'branching corals' for the clown goby. I can't find any examples online.

OP
OP
T

trelise

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Okay, that's what I suspected!
I've just had a look, and cannot find the snails avaliable in my country, at least not right now. There are peppermint and cleaner shrimps avaliable though.
If I cannot find those snails, should I just get a load of the turbo snails?

MaxTremors

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I suggest around 0.75 snails per gallon and 0.50 hermits per gallon. So that would be 15 various snails and ten hermits. I know it seems like a lot (the recommendation used to be 1-2 per gallon), but you need a robust CuC to keep algae at bay and to keep detritus from building up.

OP
OP
T

trelise

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0