First Tank - Mixed Reef - Red Sea Reefer XL300

Ashy

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is my first marine fish tank I would like to have a reef tank that is mostly LPS and softies with some SPS in hotspots, I have been putting bits together for 4 months and finally have the tank cycling.

Equipment
Tank: Red Sea Reefer XL300
Return: Sicce syncra 2.5
Skimmer: Nyos Quantum 120
Powerheads: 2x Gyre xf330
Heaters: 2x visitherm 200w
Heating Controller: Inkbird 306A
Rock: 25kg/55lbs Marco
Sand: 18kg/40lbs Dry Caribsea Special Grade
Salt: TMC PRO - for now.
Lights: None yet, will get 2x xr15 pros with diffuser

20210901_192432.jpg

20211223_180953.jpg

2 Days later, turns out cold water and no booster pump = very slow RODI production. (and rinsing the dry sand seems to do nothing for cloudiness, altough it would help if I added the sand before the water...)
20211225_180708.jpg

In the meantime while my tank was filling I went to checkout my LFS Exotic world/coral perfection and saw a really nice clown that made me wish I got my tank started a bit sooner.
20211227_150402.jpg

It had a skull pattern on the side, not sure how rare that is but it looked really good in person. Would have called it Blackbeard
20211227_150406.jpg

The tank finally cleared, not sure about the aquascape. Might need reinforcing with some more putty I dont trust it not to fall at some point.
20211228_080645.jpg

Waiting on some adhesive zip tie mounts to tidy up this mess.
20211228_184023.jpg

I dosed MicroBacter Start XLM and 14 grams of Dr Tims ammonium chloride on the 28th, still around 2ppm of ammonia and 0 nitrites.

Temp has been 25c, 35ppt salinity and 8PH. Waiting to buy more testkits.

Last edited:
OP
OP
Ashy

Ashy

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Got a refund from amazon for the bacteria assuming someone used it and returned the bottle with water in it, or it was just a old dead bottle.