First Time Reefer Cycle Question

CleanRiversDirtRoads

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone.
I am brand new to the salt water hobby and recently learned about cycling my reef aquarium before adding fish or corals. I was pointed in the direction of the Dr. Tim’s Fishless cycle, and I have followed every step to what is now day 4 dosing ammonia every other day. On day 2, my levels were pH: 7.9, ammonia: 2.0 and nitrite 0.5. Today, (day 4) my levels were pH: 7.8, ammonia: 8.0 and nitrite 2.0.
It seems like that is too big of a spike in two days, but is that normal?
Thank you so much for your helpI really appreciate your time!

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can disregard pH during cycling, but you should also be testing for nitrates. If correct, your ammonia is high and I'd probably stop dosing it. When you have a chance to post your nitrate levels let us know.

Dbichler

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes 8 ammonia is 4x the goal. That will likely take quite a while to go down being so high. You can do a large water change now to bring it down hopefully to 2 or just wait it out and do a 100% water change when ammonia hits 0.

minorhero

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As others have said, 8ppm is too much for ammonia. Do a big water change to get it down. Ammonia that high will delay your cycle.

Don't follow directions on the bottle blindly. Your goal is to dose ammonia TO 2ppm, not add 2ppm every day. If your tank does not have any bacteria already in it, its going to take weeks to develop a healthy colony of bacteria on your own.

So each day you should check your ammonia, if its at 2ppm you do nothing. If its lower then 2ppm you add some ammonia until it reaches 2ppm. That's whats supposed to happen. But at this point you need to lower it to get it back in that state, easiest way to do that is with a big water change.

OP
OP
C