First timer

Tbone2370

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I am a newbie to the hobby and I purchased a 30 gallon AOI tank that I will setup this weekend. I have been listening to the BRS 5 minute guides on YouTube and heard something I found interesting and would like to hear other thoughts. In one of the cycling videos, it mentioned after 2-4 weeks, certain fish should be added before the lights are turned on. The fish were tangs and a lawnmower blenny. The purpose of adding these fish are to fight the algae growth that will start before and after the lights are turned on. My first issue is 2-4 weeks seems pretty quick for adding fish, and tangs can get pretty large. Not sure I would want to use one for a 30 gallon, but I could start with a small one and sell it when it's larger.

For reference, I plan on using Reel Reef Rock that is treated by not true live rock. I will also use live sand and MicorBacter7 to start help the cycle go quicker.

PeterC99

Solarbenchmark.com
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!

Solid plan to get cycled. I used dry rock, live sand, and MB7 and it took about 4 weeks to cycle.

Good luck!

8FC94B89-1CAE-49F8-95F0-73F09EB51308.gif

bnord

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
welcome to the hobby and the sight, hope it goes well for you.
there can be a lot going on between 2 and 4 weeks, so test and look for changes in the gravel . hope and trust you can get things going with your regimen in that period.
and patience is a true virtue in this hobby
other opinions on seeding with beginner coral (candy canes, zoas) in the early days I think are sound and Reef Therapy is another voice to listen to besides BRS.
Crabs and Snails in that time frame too.
IMO, only the smallest bristle tooth tang would be happy long term in a 30, but there are several other fish to add early, and the lawnmower is one of them

fushi

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0