fish missing

KDB

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new at this hobby and honestly, I'm not sure if its for me, as it seems like its ALWAYS a challenge.
My first group of fish died to velvet, and now my second round is also causing confusion.

I had a royal gramma for 6 months, I added more fish to my tank and it vanished. It was so healthy and vibrant and then it was hiding for a day or two, but I could still see her because I knew the regular hiding spot. I have not seen her in 5 days at least. I can't imagine that its still alive, as I have been actively searching. Now, the same thing is happening with my black cap basslet. He was fine, yesterday was hiding a bit, now he is gone? Im so confused. I got both fish at the same time.

I added new fish about 2 weeks ago, I added a blue tang and 3 chromis. The gramma and basslet were fine for the first week with the new fish, now they are completely MIA.

Any advice?

dedragon

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
need more tank info to help. Are you using rodi water? are you monitoring parameters? weekly water changes? Rodi water tested? Did you get already pre quarantined fish or did you qt? Chromis are notorious for bringing in uronema and hippos usually have an external parasite or 2 unless treated with medication

OP
OP
KDB

KDB

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
need more tank info to help. Are you using rodi water? are you monitoring parameters? weekly water changes? Rodi water tested? Did you get already pre quarantined fish or did you qt? Chromis are notorious for bringing in uronema and hippos usually have an external parasite or 2 unless treated with medication
All fish I purchased from a supplier that quarantines and treats. I do not have a quarantine tank. I use reverse osmosis drinking water for water changes, I do them weekly.

CrimsonTide

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0