Flow Help- Reefer 170 & MP10!

elagstein

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Friends,

I'm brand new to the hobby and trying to figure out a good starting point for chooseing flow on my MP10. I have a Reefer 170, which is 35G fishtank +9G sump = Total 44G.

Can someone receomend the flow percent, GPH, MOde type etc..

Thank you in advance!!

Super Fly

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
6-10 times/hour ttl water volume turnover is ideal target, should include return pump flow in calc. In my previous 65G cube, I ran my MP10 in ReefCrest mode which seems popular with folks

Super Fly

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
oh and in a 35G tank, probably wont need to go above 4-5 dial in a MP10. Play around w setting to see which level moves water well while not splashing over the side. 3/4 high up from the base in center back is good starting point as u want the powerhead to provide good surface water movement as well.

Macbalacano

Recovering Reef Addict
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a reefer 170 but with 1 x MP40. I run it at 1% all the time because it is so strong!

Like others have mentioned, it will depend on your rockwork and corals and placement. You'll have to play around with it :)

OP
OP
E

elagstein

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have 6 fish, 2 Anemones and two small corals. I would be grateful to get a starting point, because right now I'm choosing settings out of thin air..

Are their suggestions as a starting point to be in the ballpark?

OP
OP
E

elagstein

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
oh and in a 35G tank, probably wont need to go above 4-5 dial in a MP10. Play around w setting to see which level moves water well while not splashing over the side. 3/4 high up from the base in center back is good starting point as u want the powerhead to provide good surface water movement as well.
Thank you for yoru help!