Follow3's 40 gal. frag tank.

follow3

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all,

I have decided it is time to re-vamp my 40 gal. frag tank.
I have only had it going for a few months, but I have learned a lot of info here, so I would like to change some things. Soooo... I also thought it would be good to start a thread to document the transformation of the tank from a 40 gal. prop tank on a work bench in the garage, to what hopefully will become a nice reek tank with room for propagation or just to grow some frags for my display tank located in the house (in the near future).

Kinda funny huh... I started studying about how to set up a saltwater tank. That led to reef tanks. That led to corals. That led to Propagation. That somehow led to Zoas and Palys. That of course led me here. And for some strange reason... I started a 40 gal. prop tank before I even set up my display tank. Crazy huh?

Enough jibber jabber......here's what I have so far:

DSC01482.jpg

This is my workbench full of tanks.

DSC01483.jpg

Here is another shot.

DSC01484.jpg

Hre is a closeup.

So... that is what I have:
1. A 10 gal. QT
2. A 40 gal. breeder prop.
3. A 20 gal. long sump/fuge.
4. A BUNCH of supplies.

All on a 2x4 and plywood workbench.
NOT a pretty sight.

Over the next week or so I hope to transform the whole mess.
I plan to put the prop tank on a cabinet stand with the sump inside the cabinet. I am going to build the stand out of scrap lumber I have around the shop. I am going to build a canopy to house the T-5 lights. I am also goingto re-do all of the plumbing.

I will keep up with the progress as I work on it. I hope to end up with a reef tank with frag racks, yet still somewhat attractive.

Last edited:

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Ya i like it a lot! Cool corals it looks like!

OP
OP
follow3

follow3

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks alot guys!!!