Free PAR meter? Photone App.

BRS

diver22

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
228
Reaction score
73
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
I hit went back into it and I wasn’t set to Lux. But also the calibration only shows me comparing it with a light chart or par meter?
After you select the LUX option, go back to the main screen and measure it under PAR option... hope that is what your asking about...
IMG_1559.PNG
 
Avast

LeftyReefer

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2020
Messages
1,831
Reaction score
1,971
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Saginaw
I hit went back into it and I wasn’t set to Lux. But also the calibration only shows me comparing it with a light chart or par meter?
Select par meter and go through the steps shown in the video to calibrate it with a bag or for underwater use.
 

diver22

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
228
Reaction score
73
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Going to test it against my NICREW light in my nano, I have readings from a few months ago so going to set the same scenario and test with App and see how far apart are they using the Full Spectrum and B/W settings... Here is with a Apogee about 5 months ago. Fingers cross. I have nothing in this tank currently so I can test instead of my DT.

Screen Shot 2022-01-28 at 11.52.24 AM.png
 

Koh23

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 23, 2021
Messages
676
Reaction score
510
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Croatia
Stupid question, u need to do calibration with light u testing, or u can do it with table lamp like in video?

Wait....another one.... U turn off pumps, return and all and then test, or?

Vacuuming....yes, the best solution is always the simplest one....
 
Last edited:

diver22

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
228
Reaction score
73
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Stupid question, u need to do calibration with light u testing, or u can do it with table lamp like in video?

Wait....another one.... U turn off pumps, return and all and then test, or?

Vacuuming....yes, the best solution is always the simplest one....
Any light, also leave your pumps on because realistic you will have them on all the time anyways.
 
REEFTIDE

diver22

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
228
Reaction score
73
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Ok did my test, here is is is actually closer that I expected.

I did the same test just measured middle of tank PAR not sides, did during lunch. But I do have to tell you HAVE to Calibrate it if not your reading will off the chart.

I put my iPhone in a Ziplock and vacuum sealed it.

It was off very little see chart below. The only change I have done is change Power head with the same one.
These are NICREW 50W Lights

Screen Shot 2022-01-28 at 12.59.27 PM.png
 
Last edited:

OutColdCoral

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Dec 23, 2021
Messages
109
Reaction score
92
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
shreveport
Ok did my test, here is is is actually closer that I expected.

I did the same test just measured middle of tank PAR not sides, did during lunch. But I do have to tell you HAVE to Calibrate it if not your reading will off the chart.

I put my iPhone in a Ziplock and vacuum sealed it.

It was off very little see chart below. The only change I have done is change Power head with the same one.
These are NICREW 50W Lights

Screen Shot 2022-01-28 at 12.59.27 PM.png
Did you multiply the conversion factor of 1.32 or where those the straight numbers from the app? I’m assuming you used the conversion
 

diver22

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
228
Reaction score
73
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Did you multiply the conversion factor of 1.32 or where those the straight numbers from the app? I’m assuming you used the conversion
Yes that has to be done... look at video above, that hole process needs to happen it you have an iPhone you need to use the filter .
Android does not use filter but Android is still in beta, and they do still have work to do according to the videos I have see, iPhone is extremely accurate to my surprise.
 

LeftyReefer

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2020
Messages
1,831
Reaction score
1,971
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Saginaw
Yes that has to be done... look at video above, that hole process needs to happen it you have an iPhone you need to use the filter .
Android does not use filter but Android is still in beta, and they do still have work to do according to the videos I have see, iPhone is extremely accurate to my surprise.
I'm using the android app, but unfortunately I don't have any previous PAR results taken with an actual PAR meter to compare any of my current results with...

Maybe someone with an android phone, using the android app will come along that has some previous PAR data they can compare the android app data to.
 
AS

LeftyReefer

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2020
Messages
1,831
Reaction score
1,971
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Saginaw
So, if u use android, then calibration is..... Needed? Not needed? Confused now.....

Calibration is need for both IOS and Android regardless, what differs is using the filter ( White Copy Paper ) over front camera, iPhone only.

With an android, you only need to calibrate it if you are putting it in a bag for measuring underwater.

just your phone in air, no calibration needed.
in a bag, calibrate between no bag and bag.
under water, calibrated to bag use with underwater correction factor of 1.32 applied.
 

diver22

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 9, 2016
Messages
228
Reaction score
73
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Got to try out the blue and white setting versus the full spectrum I initially used and it read 40 par more than full spectrum. Probably closer to correct at the water line.
remember you need to calibrate if using it in the water, if notyou should be good just make sure you have Lux selected in the setting and not FC. above in the tread I posted a picture of that setting.
 
Reef Chasers Aquaculture
BRS

Peninsula Reef Tanks...

  • I currently have one

    Votes: 86 25.0%
  • I used to have one set up

    Votes: 16 4.7%
  • I would like to try one in the future

    Votes: 170 49.4%
  • No interest

    Votes: 72 20.9%
Cultivated Reef
Top