Genuine concern: should I be afraid of what’s in my tank?

alicel

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Maybe I’m overthinking...
But I do know that I’m still a newbie with years and years of more knowledge and experience to obtain.
I had no idea that palytoxin was a thing... and I’ve been seeing so much about it the last week or so.
I have “zoas“ in my tank. I don’t know how to distinguish the difference between zoas and palys.
So my genuine concern is whether or not I should be afraid of what’s in my tank since I really don’t know what it is (to be honest, considering I don’t know the difference)
Or - am I just an idiot newbie with every-day anxiety that’s bringing that anxiety into my hobby when it’s not necessary.
Can someone talk me off of this worry ledge and tell me it’s okay or tell me that my concern is valid?

Cavalina

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Better safe than sorry I suppose, but my guess is you might be over-thinking. I have zoas and palys and have never had issues. Many others are the same. But there are "good" palys and "bad" palys. I prune Palythoa Mutuki in my tank frequently, However, if I had P. Heliodiscus or P. Toxica I would be much more cautious. Here's a good article that breaks it down very nicely...... https://reefs.com/2015/09/14/the-dangers-and-myths-of-zoa-toxicity-part-1/

I guess my disclaimer in this is that everyone reacts a little differently. So know the facts of course. But hopefully this helps.

phillybean

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0