GHA : Is blacking-out tank the next step?

AndyinAtlanta

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I'll spare the photos of the same green hair algae problem many people encounter. My tank ten months old at this point. It is a 32.5 gallon Fluval Flex with three fish (two clowns and a single cardinalfish), a few snails and crabs, and a dozen corals (zoas, mushrooms, hammers, GSP, and torches). I've been battling green hair algae for around two months now. While at some points it has gotten better, it is at its worst right now. A few points:
  • I've reduced feeding to once a day, only enough for each fish to eat 4-6 bites.
  • I am not currently feeding the corals (previously fed with Reef-Roids, I think this only spiked the GHA growth).
  • The lights are on 8 hours a day currently.
  • I've tested the water, the nitrates and phosphates read 0, but this is likely due to the GHA.
  • I've been dosing the minimum recommended amount of NoPox to help reduce any extra nutrients in the tank daily for the last month.
I think I've addressed the cause of the GHA growth, but I feel now I need to remove the green hair algae more aggressively. My filter floss catches a lot of it, but since the algae is still growing its impossible to pull off the rocks. I also mistakenly spent the first month scrubbing the rocks in the tank; this was likely a critical mistake that lead to its spread. My protein skimmer is also picking up a lot and gets emptied a few times a week.

So, onto the main question, is blacking out the tank for three days the next best move? Like I alluded to, I think I've solved the cause of the problem due to excess nutrition in the tank, but this correction hasn't lead to a decrease in aglae. Will covering the tank entirely for a set number of days kill off the current GHA? Removing it manually to this point has been a fruitless endeavor. Thanks!

laverda

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0