Ghost Feeding after MicroBacter Cycle? Raw shrimp? PEE!?!?!?!

FrickMasterFlex

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Preparing to test my water on Thursday for the first time after I used the MicroBacter bacteria in a bottle that came highly recommended from a knowledgeable fellow from the local fish store that specializes in reef tanks. If I measure this Thursday what should I be looking for from an ammonia/nitrite/nitrate level? I've seen around a few threads that the must have measurements to confirm the cycle is complete is 0 for ammonia/nitrite and nitrates around 25ppm.

Now, if that's correct, and those are the readings I get on Thursday, is it necessary to try and do another form of cycling to ensure I'm good? As a newb, I'd rather be ULTRA safe to ensure it's complete. I've read about the raw shrimp method where you leave it in for 24-48 hours to spike ammonia levels as it decays, and then see if the tank can cycle ammonia levels back to 0 within 24 hours after you remove it. Also saw some old R2R threads from 7 or so years ago where people said they actually used their own urine to confirm/help the cycle! Is that real life? TIA for the help!

lapin

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Did you feed the bacteria anything to get them to start multiplying?

Upvote 0

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
save yourself a headache, modify the plan around you having test kits that wont read accurately:

add the bottle bac into rocks and sand and water

add a pinch of fish food, doesn't matter whether or not you add ammonia too. add some if you have it.

wait 20 days due to that brand. if it was fritz or biospira, =within a week but that mix wait 20.

on day 20 you are cycled, take a single nitrate reading to make sure there is a little, that proofs your bottle bac wasn't dead. this way can't fail.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
FrickMasterFlex

FrickMasterFlex