GK3’s IM AIO 30 - You won’t believe what she let me do

Top Shelf Aquatics

ReeferReefer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 23, 2015
Messages
1,883
Reaction score
1,421
Here is an updated concept.

Open and closed. Closed the radions are at the recommended 7" above tank. The dimension of the back is 5" above the glass. I assume this will be enough for any equipment I put in the filter area. If anyone knows of a filter piece that sticks up more than 5", please let me know.

What do you guys think of this idea?

Thanks ReeferReefer for the idea on lower profile.

closed.JPG
open.JPG
Looks awesome. I think it's a great design.


I wonder if including a small door on the sides to change filter floss and empty skimmer cup could be nice too.

How easy will it be to get it "open"?
 
  • Like
Reactions: GK3
OP
GK3

GK3

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
863
Reaction score
674
Location
Charlotte NC
Looks awesome. I think it's a great design.


I wonder if including a small door on the sides to change filter floss and empty skimmer cup could be nice too.

How easy will it be to get it "open"?
Push a button open, push a button close. Don’t want to do a door as I want it all actuated.
 

ReeferReefer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 23, 2015
Messages
1,883
Reaction score
1,421
Push a button open, push a button close. Don’t want to do a door as I want it all actuated.
I'll be interested to see the mechanism you use. The design is looking great.

As long as it's easy [emoji106]
 
Top Shelf Aquatics
OP
GK3

GK3

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
863
Reaction score
674
Location
Charlotte NC
So my tank cycle is still going. I started it out at toxic and have been watching it drop. It seems like it stalled out on alert....or am I just being inpatient?

Haven’t cycled a tank in a long time, not sure if somethings up or if i just need to hang on for a bit.
 
OP
GK3

GK3

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
863
Reaction score
674
Location
Charlotte NC
I'll be interested to see the mechanism you use. The design is looking great.

As long as it's easy [emoji106]
It’s actually super easy. I’ll post something on it when I get it all proved out. I am now working on the base design with casters.
 

smilinteddy

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 23, 2019
Messages
163
Reaction score
266
So my tank cycle is still going. I started it out at toxic and have been watching it drop. It seems like it stalled out on alert....or am I just being inpatient?

Haven’t cycled a tank in a long time, not sure if somethings up or if i just need to hang on for a bit.
I read back in your post and saw that you did pure ammonia with bacteria to start. If the bacteria are doing their job they should knock the ammonia down eventually. Maybe it needs more time. I think (though not sure exactly what kind of bacteria you started with) if you're impatient you could jump start it by adding some more bacteria.

Also I'm not sure how accurate those indicators are. It might be worth while to pick up an ammonia test kit and see where it says you are. Maybe your indicator got "stuck" or is giving a false reading.

Or maybe it just needs more time [emoji28]
 
  • Like
Reactions: GK3
OP
GK3

GK3

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
863
Reaction score
674
Location
Charlotte NC
I read back in your post and saw that you did pure ammonia with bacteria to start. If the bacteria are doing their job they should knock the ammonia down eventually. Maybe it needs more time. I think (though not sure exactly what kind of bacteria you started with) if you're impatient you could jump start it by adding some more bacteria.

Also I'm not sure how accurate those indicators are. It might be worth while to pick up an ammonia test kit and see where it says you are. Maybe your indicator got "stuck" or is giving a false reading.

Or maybe it just needs more time [emoji28]
Thanks for the input. I think I’ll let it keep going, but have my LFS check the ammonia this week.
 

Nem0

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 8, 2019
Messages
390
Reaction score
152
I agree with @smilinteddy. you should also get a basic test kit. I have the API freshwater and it works fine. I use my ammonia alert in the tank to notify me/for ease but still do water tests weekly. i've noticed the alert shows changes in ammonia very slowly...and it shows reduce in ammonia even slower.
 

Metal_Angler

Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 8, 2019
Messages
43
Reaction score
35
It’s actually super easy. I’ll post something on it when I get it all proved out. I am now working on the base design with casters.
Would you be able to open it if there was a loss of power?
I think if it opens enough for you to pull the media rack, that'll be all the clearance you'd need.
 
  • Like
Reactions: GK3
OP
GK3

GK3

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
863
Reaction score
674
Location
Charlotte NC
Would you be able to open it if there was a loss of power?
I think if it opens enough for you to pull the media rack, that'll be all the clearance you'd need.
Haha, that’s an interesting thought. I plan to have a UPS, but I may think about doing it such that if power goes out, then it just defaults to open. Lights will turn off anyway so it won’t matter if they are up high. Idk.

In 3 years, I’ve never lost power on my tank, so a UPS should be fine, but I’ll look into it.
 

Metal_Angler

Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 8, 2019
Messages
43
Reaction score
35
Haha, that’s an interesting thought. I plan to have a UPS, but I may think about doing it such that if power goes out, then it just defaults to open. Lights will turn off anyway so it won’t matter if they are up high. Idk.

In 3 years, I’ve never lost power on my tank, so a UPS should be fine, but I’ll look into it.
Default to open makes the most sense to me as well if you could do that. Just in case you had to get back there for any reason.

I haven't had a bad one but have lost power before due to living in Florida and having to deal with hurricanes and such.

Can't wait to see you start building the stand and canopy. I may have to do something similar in the future. [emoji16]
 
  • Like
Reactions: GK3

ReeferReefer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 23, 2015
Messages
1,883
Reaction score
1,421
Got the water tested today. Ammonia is still high. Apparently i overdosed the initial ammonia. Have to wait a little while longer.
Just waiting it out now!
 
Get Fish & Corals directly for the suppliers

Will you watch revhtree on the LIVE #askBRStv show?

  • Yes I'll tune in live at 1:30pm est!

    Votes: 102 34.1%
  • No I'll have to catch the rerun!

    Votes: 164 54.8%
  • Neither, I choose to make revhtree sad...

    Votes: 33 11.0%

Online statistics

Members online
1,729
Guests online
3,901
Total visitors
5,630
Aqua SD
Industrial Test Systems, Inc.
Top