Hammer coral not extending as far as it used to

gabedickerson7

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Here is a video of my hammer coral. It has been in the tank for about a month and a half now and it seems like it’s not extending out as much as it used to. I just put a new sump and return pump in there with more flow than before so could it be too much flow? Anything suggestions will help I’m still pretty new to this.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0

Here is a video of my hammer coral. It has been in the tank for about a month and a half now and it seems like it’s not extending out as much as it used to. I just put a new sump and return pump in there with more flow than before so could it be too much flow? Anything suggestions will help I’m still pretty new to this.
Based on video, hammer looks pretty decent. You could change location as they do best at upper third of tank.
The trick would really be just to avoid the extremes. Avoid extremely bright locations or areas of very high current, and avoid areas that are too dark or with currents that are too low. Fast currents risk damaging the soft, fleshy polyps (and getting an infection). Bright lights will cause bleaching. Insufficient lighting will cause the poor coral to wither away and starve to death.
Hammer corals only require a moderate amount of light for photosynthesis and can grow well in the intermediate regions of your tank. Just about any reef LED lighting should be sufficient for most tanks. Reduce white light intensity and get it off the sand bed which sand can irritate it.
The polyps should sway in the current, but not sustain so much pressure they are constantly bent over their skeleton. Too much flow will tear the polyps (worst case) and cause the polyps do not extend in the first place (best case). So, don’t give them too much flow.

OP
OP
G

gabedickerson7

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0