Hammer Health

Uzidaisies

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, this is my first post. I’m new to marine aquariums and I set up my first saltwater tank about six weeks ago. It’s an Aqueon 14 gallon cube. The price seemed like a steal so I bought two. My intention at first was to set one up as a FW planted shrimp tank. But I was already planning to get into SW, so at some point I switched gears and decided to try a nano reef tank.

I’m relatively experienced with freshwater aquariums, currently I have only two freshwater tanks running, one is a 29 gallon heavily planted community tank and the other is just a 1.5 gallon, lightly planted fry holding tank with no fry in it, because the 29 is swarming with fry now.

Corals though, I have no experience with, prior to my recent excursion. And inevitably questions and concerns have arisen. I bought this gold hammer, 18 days ago to be exact. It extends fully and looks healthy, from what I can tell, during the day. When I bought it, I noticed on the way home that it had a brownish green, ridge, or ring, ripple? Going around the skeleton about halfway up. I was concerned. I got home a dipped the coral in the solution that the guy at my not so local fish store gave me. He was kind enough to give me a little cup of it but never did tell me which solution it is. As per his instructions I put either 5 or 10ml (can’t remember) directly into the bag I brought the coral home in. I left it in there for 5 to 10 minutes, during which time I sucked up and squirted the water/dip at the hammer to blow out any critters in there. I repeated the process with two other corals. I took the coral out of the bag and washed it off a couple times with a pipette and tank water over a bucket. Then I put the coral in a small container of tank water for a minute and circulated the water around just to wash off as much of the dip solution as I could. Then I took it out and placed it at the bottom center of my tank.