• For a Limited Time the R2R Partner Membership is NOW OPEN! Get some cool swag and chances to win part of over $20,000 in prizes! Click here for more details

Hanna phosphate checker goes off before I am ready for C2!

Trever

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 19, 2020
Messages
299
Reaction score
156
I have only done this once now but my Hanna Phosphate LR checker went into power save mode on me after I had calibrated it against the empty tank sample and before I could finish getting the reagent into the vial and stirred. Then when I turned it on, it wanted to calibrate all over again (too late reagent was in the tube). I grabbed another sample since there are two vials that came with the product but that's not strictly legit I assume (they warn about micro bubbles and finger prints, seems like you'd want to read against the same sample you just zero'd, but maybe tank water is tank water and a vial is vial, so what I did is fine, I dunno).

Am I just a huge moron?

In this Hanna demo the person didn't have the same problem. Is there a way to deal with this with button presses or you just gotta be faster on the draw in getting the sample ready to go for C2, like in the video there?
 

Pistondog

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 28, 2020
Messages
1,127
Reaction score
2,117
I have only done this once now but my Hanna Phosphate LR checker went into power save mode on me after I had calibrated it against the empty tank sample and before I could finish getting the reagent into the vial and stirred. Then when I turned it on, it wanted to calibrate all over again (too late reagent was in the tube). I grabbed another sample since there are two vials that came with the product but that's not strictly legit I assume (they warn about micro bubbles and finger prints, seems like you'd want to read against the same sample you just zero'd, but maybe tank water is tank water and a vial is vial, so what I did is fine, I dunno).

Am I just a huge moron?

In this Hanna demo the person didn't have the same problem. Is there a way to deal with this with button presses or you just gotta be faster on the draw in getting the sample ready to go for C2, like in the video there?
I had this problem once, then thought 2 minutes of shaking was excessive.
And the reagent is Toxic, so if we spill any on the vial we have to clean it before putting back in colorimeter....
1 minute is enough.
The crap we put up with.
 

Erick Armanii

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 31, 2017
Messages
708
Reaction score
561
Location
Danbury Ct
One mine I fill both vials, put the reagent in one and mix then start the test
For best accuracy use 1 vial. Impurities in the glass between 2 vials will cause refractions during the testing that can give inaccurate readings. Never touch the center of the vial after the C1 test as the oils from your finger prints can alter the readings. Final tip; ensure the vial is placed in the same position for C1 and C2. (I have the 10ml logo positioned middle front the same way every time)
 
Fragtacular Sale

Erick Armanii

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 31, 2017
Messages
708
Reaction score
561
Location
Danbury Ct
Two minutes is needed to get a proper reading. It takes five minutes, two shaking plus the three minute timer.

You get three minutes between C1 and C2. Prepare the packet beforehand and get it ready to pour, and then the timing works quite well.
Agreed. When setting up to preform the test I have the packet prepped and ready so the moment C1 is complete it’s ready to pour
 

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
31,739
Reaction score
71,169
Location
Sheboygan
For some reason you have to move quick. I found it easier to have my daughter help me and you keep the steps moving
 
OP
Trever

Trever

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 19, 2020
Messages
299
Reaction score
156
Well, you all are making me feel better, though not about the $50 product I bought! Come on, how difficult can it be to program this thing to allow a resume for us?
 

Erick Armanii

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 31, 2017
Messages
708
Reaction score
561
Location
Danbury Ct
Well, you all are making me feel better, though not about the $50 product I bought! Come on, how difficult can it be to program this thing to allow a resume for us?
Also how difficult can it be to just have the button AUTOMATICALLY DO THE 3 MINUTE COUNT DOWN!!?

I have forgotten to press and hold so many times and had to start all over again..
 

Daddy-o

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
1,671
Reaction score
2,244
Location
Redwood City, Ca. 94062 (San Francisco Bay Area)
Two minutes is needed to get a proper reading. It takes five minutes, two shaking plus the three minute timer.

You get three minutes between C1 and C2. Prepare the packet beforehand and get it ready to pour, and then the timing works quite well.
I have a Hanna checker and you only get 2 minutes and then it is off. I tried contacting Hanna way back in January but they never responded.
Cheers! Mark
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

NeverlosT

SPS nut
View Badges
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
1,062
Reaction score
895
Location
San Luis Obispo, California
Also how difficult can it be to just have the button AUTOMATICALLY DO THE 3 MINUTE COUNT DOWN!!?

I have forgotten to press and hold so many times and had to start all over again..
lol I do this ALL THE TIME. There goes a reagent. Or how about making it BEEP WHEN 3 MINUTES ARE UP??? I often forget and it goes back to sleep and I miss seeing the readout!!!
 

Erick Armanii

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 31, 2017
Messages
708
Reaction score
561
Location
Danbury Ct
lol I do this ALL THE TIME. There goes a reagent. Or how about making it BEEP WHEN 3 MINUTES ARE UP??? I often forget and it goes back to sleep and I miss seeing the readout!!!
This actually happened to me today first time ever lol.. I had 1:08 left on the countdown went to make a cup of coffee...... came back and was so mad
 
OP
Trever

Trever

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 19, 2020
Messages
299
Reaction score
156
This all sounds like a scheme on Hanna's part to sell more reagent.

Anyways, their kit does (mysteriously) come with two vials. There must be a reason for that.

I'm gonna do an experiment and test using one vial within all the required presses etc., versus the reading with two vials (i.e. use the vial with no reagent to zero the vial with the reagent) and see if there really is a difference (these tests are only accurate to +/- .4 or something like that anyways).

Maybe @ErickArmanii it's ok to do this.
 

JaykS

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 3, 2020
Messages
100
Reaction score
38
Location
Toronto
This all sounds like a scheme on Hanna's part to sell more reagent.

Anyways, their kit does (mysteriously) come with two vials. There must be a reason for that.

I'm gonna do an experiment and test using one vial within all the required presses etc., versus the reading with two vials (i.e. use the vial with no reagent to zero the vial with the reagent) and see if there really is a difference (these tests are only accurate to +/- .4 or something like that anyways).

Maybe @ErickArmanii it's ok to do this.
Hanna has responded to the idea of using both vials, they said there could be slight difference in the glass but the reading change would be minimal. Also stated most of the users are using both, one to zero out and the other with reagent.
 

Daddy-o

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
1,671
Reaction score
2,244
Location
Redwood City, Ca. 94062 (San Francisco Bay Area)
FWIW the newest checker, the phosphate ULR one (774 I think) has eight minutes between C1 and C2. The OG phosphate one and the phosphorous one only have three.
And some of the phosphate checkers only have 2 minutes before shut down
 
OP
Trever

Trever

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 19, 2020
Messages
299
Reaction score
156
Well, this product design is dumb as bricks, but I guess what @Potatohead said sounds about right.

If I prepare the packet before hand and if the time I'm supposed to shake is 2 minutes and if the thing goes to sleep after 3 minutes, I will have just about the right amount of time.

Still, I think I'm gonna be using two vials. Takes the pressure off. The reagent is expensive, my hands are always very dry (not oily), and the results are plus/minus enough that I don't see how that can be bad science on my part. And @JaykS is saying Hanna has signed off on this anyways.

So, there it is. Wish I had bought the lower resolution one, but my LFS said that wasn't the right one to get. :mad:

I guess the lower resolution Hanna phosphate checker is for stick heads.

Re product design, perhaps the electronics are older generation and really chew up battery so they are at pains to sleep them relatively quickly unlike newer circuit boards. Presumably developing a product like this is expensive, etc., so they can't just redo. But maybe I'm rationalizing for Hanna and shouldn't/needn't.
 
Last edited:

Erick Armanii

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 31, 2017
Messages
708
Reaction score
561
Location
Danbury Ct
This all sounds like a scheme on Hanna's part to sell more reagent.

Anyways, their kit does (mysteriously) come with two vials. There must be a reason for that.

I'm gonna do an experiment and test using one vial within all the required presses etc., versus the reading with two vials (i.e. use the vial with no reagent to zero the vial with the reagent) and see if there really is a difference (these tests are only accurate to +/- .4 or something like that anyways).

Maybe @ErickArmanii it's ok to do this.
If you want to test for yourself to see the variations then by all means go for it. If you’re running a test, you have increased accuracy If you use the same vial. I wouldn’t expect to see a large variation between the two vials but I would be interested to see the same test run with vial #1 unreacted and vial #2 with reagent. Record the results. Then run the same test without emptying vial #1 preform C1 then adding the reagent to vial #1 Preform C2 and record the results.

nonetheless, hobby grade test kits such as the Hanna checker won’t provide scientific or medical grade accuracy. My advice is to increase your accuracy chances by using the same vial and make adjustments to your husbandry habits based on upward or downward trend.
 
OP
Trever

Trever

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 19, 2020
Messages
299
Reaction score
156
@Erick Armanii yes it's been an interesting week. My first rounds of testing made me believe these tests were completely useless and I remembered all the posts and videos I've seen in my up front research about people doing XYZ to their tank to fix a parameter(s), only to discover the hobby grade testing device was way off.

By now, I'm settling in. I do find having the cycling data on my parameters has helped, and it has a lot more to do with comparing than absolute values. I can even observe that (for example) while I don't know exactly what that ammonia test kit is trying to tell me, it's clearly darker than it was the day before when I tested, and this becomes useful information- better than being "blind" and having no idea- better than having made no attempt to test the water.

(I decided to test phosphorous and other parameters not necessarily important yet, because I thought it might later be useful to have an early reading, and wanted to see if some rumors about what all of this pukani rock might do to the water were true (so far, they aren't).)
 

Thaxxx

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 15, 2018
Messages
580
Reaction score
864
Location
Central Florida
One more tip.
If you do forget during the 3 min. count down, and come back within about 15 mins. (I did it!) and it shut off. Just use the second vial with tank water to redo C1, then swap it out with the reagent vial you forgot about, and thenC2.
I got a accurate reading because I immediately retested as normal, and I got the same numbers. Ymmv.
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

What overall grade would you give to the whole class of online livestock vendors?

  • A+

    Votes: 12 3.2%
  • A

    Votes: 34 8.9%
  • A-

    Votes: 30 7.9%
  • B+

    Votes: 54 14.2%
  • B

    Votes: 90 23.7%
  • B-

    Votes: 40 10.5%
  • C+

    Votes: 28 7.4%
  • C

    Votes: 46 12.1%
  • C-

    Votes: 16 4.2%
  • D+

    Votes: 6 1.6%
  • D

    Votes: 11 2.9%
  • D-

    Votes: 6 1.6%
  • F+

    Votes: 1 0.3%
  • F

    Votes: 2 0.5%
  • F-

    Votes: 4 1.1%

Online statistics

Members online
923
Guests online
2,830
Total visitors
3,753
Top