Happy Fathers Day! New tank build advice

Nick96

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone!

My Dad had a beautiful 90 gallon coral reef he was pretty invested for a while. I helped him make the RO water, mix salts, and carry water because I had the better back haha. So I have some experience growing up with it.

I just moved out to a nice apartment on my own and am finally looking to start my own 40g breeder. I'd like to do something as close to rimless as possible with minimal additional work. I am looking to do very basic easy corals like some pulsing zenia, zoanthids, maybe bubble coral and any type of easy mushrooms.

For fish/critters: clown, sexy shrimp (maybe), goby, maybe a fire fish in there too.

For the setup at home: I have a lot of space in my apartment thankfully and a perfect spot. No direct light, easy access to outlets, and I already have an RO system ready to go so I'll be making my own salt water.

I am thinking I want to do a sump system because I generally know how it works but I do want some advice on parts. I have about a $1500 budget.

To sum up:

Lights: not sure
Tank/stand: not sure
Sump sytem: not sure
RO: all set
Rocks: I have someone who is getting me good live rock
Corals: I will be getting some frags listed above
Fish: not 100% sure

Any and all advice appreciated and I will make sure to send pics with updates.

Thank you!

Quietman

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Are you interested in HOB/In tank equipment at all? It can save money and complexity. If so, I'd refer you to BRS 5 min guide (they set up a 40 breeder with HOB/In-tank gear).