Has anyone used a HOB overflow box to turn your Waterbox ATO into a refugium?

Ecotech Marine

bluerider098

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 18, 2020
Messages
157
Reaction score
108
Location
Coldwater
I am wanting to convert the ATO in my Waterbox sump into a refugium. I have seen some threads where people just let it overflow the top of the glass, but that's a little too close too the top of the sump for my comfort.

I was thinking of using the Marine Depot nano HOB overflow box to pull the water from the ATO back into the main sump area. The thing I am not sure of is how low I can turn down the flow with a HOB overflow.

Has anyone done something like this before? If so please share.

Thanks.
 
Corals.com

dedragon

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
1,656
Reaction score
1,307
flow on hob is usually dictated by the return pump flow. I used one before (a cpr overflow), it works with a siphon so there is a bit of noise
 

dedragon

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
1,656
Reaction score
1,307
i worry about a siphon break with other brands of overflow, idk what marinedepots looks like as there site isnt loading for me today
 
OP
bluerider098

bluerider098

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 18, 2020
Messages
157
Reaction score
108
Location
Coldwater
The Marine Depot overflow box looks exactly like the eshopps one to me. I have never used a HOB one before.

 

dedragon

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
1,656
Reaction score
1,307
yea they do work, but i would always personally worry about a siphon break because it doesnt have a port on the u tube to take out built up air, its also one 3/4 inch drain so it will siphon and most likely make a lot of noise. BTW how big is the tank, is the extra sump space needed ?
 
Budmans
OP
bluerider098

bluerider098

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 18, 2020
Messages
157
Reaction score
108
Location
Coldwater
The tank is a Waterbox Frag 55.2. the in tank volume is like 40 gallons.

I don't like the idea of it being noisy.

The main area in my sump is not big enough to fit a refugium after I put my protein skimmer in there.

I have a separate ATO so I wanted a plan to use that area for a refugium. I am in the process of setting up the tank now so if I have to modify the sump I would prefer to do it now. I had thought about drilling it to overflow but the overflow box seemed like a clean option.
 

dedragon

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
1,656
Reaction score
1,307
most people i have seen havent had much issues with a siphon break but i wanted to put it out there that it is a possibility with the external overflow box. Using an overflow box with dual overflows can help, just run it herbie style. one siphons the other is an emergency, this will help with noise. I suggest looking into drilling the tank. idk if it is tempered glass though
 
OP
bluerider098

bluerider098

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 18, 2020
Messages
157
Reaction score
108
Location
Coldwater
I wish Waterbox offered some sump options here - the top-off reservoir is too small to be that useful, and that precious space could really be better utilized.
I asked when I purchased the tank, but they don't do any custom sumps. I think this is because I don't think they do any manufacturing in house. I believe everything is made in China.

I am sourcing everything I need to drill a hole for a 3/4" bulkhead to drain back into the skimmer section. It's kinda tight for a drill so I plan to borrow a 90°drill from work.
 
Fritz

How important is sand sifting or sand stirring livestock to your reef tank?

  • Very important

    Votes: 33 55.9%
  • Somewhat important

    Votes: 14 23.7%
  • Not important

    Votes: 4 6.8%
  • Not sure

    Votes: 6 10.2%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 2 3.4%

New Posts

Build a Better Aquarium at Marine Depot
Top