Having problems cycling with instant ocean bio spira

leo12345

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to saltwater fish tanks and I’ve been trying to do a fishless cycle on my tank for about 2 weeks now and I dosed with instant ocean bio spira (which was supposed to cycle instantly) and dr Tim’s ammonia in a 29 gallon, my nitrites ph and spiked for a while but are ok now but my ammonia is at .5ppm and my nitrates have been at 10 ppm for 2 weeks now and it won’t go down. I’ve added more bio spira and did a 25% water change but nothing seems to work, do I have to add more chemicals or something, or is this normal and I just need to just let it do it’s thing. Any advice would be great. I’ve also been using a api master test kit to test the parameters.

Dbichler

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Nitrates are not going to go down they are the end result of nitrogen cycle. Ammonia at .5 is slightly concerning at 2 weeks should be 0 by now with biospira 2 weeks ago. May be testing error api is notorious for that though. Leave it be another week and then do a large water change and begin. Are you using rodi water that’s the most important piece of equipment in the hobby imo.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
L

leo12345

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Nitrates are not going to go down they are the end result of nitrogen cycle. Ammonia at .5 is slightly concerning at 2 weeks should be 0 by now with biospira 2 weeks ago. May be testing error api is notorious for that though. Leave it be another week and then do a large water change and begin. Are you using rodi water that’s the most important piece of equipment in the hobby imo.
Hi! Thanks for responding and yes I have been using rodi water that I make myself with a ro buddy and there’s a chance my nitrates may be at 0 but it’s a little hard for me to tell since the shades are so close but my ammonia is definitely somewhere between .5 and .25ppm

Upvote 0

brandon429