Hello - Newbie to Reef2Reef!

MLSReefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone - hope you all are well!

I'm new to Reef2Reef (as you can see) and I've done quite a bit of research on starting a reef tank - I'm watching 52 weeks of reefing for the second time (and probably will again) just to ensure I get started on the right track on this epic journey!

I was fascinated with this hobby(to some; lifestyle) 4 months ago when a friend of mine showed me his tank. He had a rimless 20g tank with radeon lights and such. I then started reading about it and joining Facebook groups, ect. and now I'm on Reef2Reef to hopefully learn more and get help from the community!

I know this is an expensive hobby and there will be trial and error but I'm uber excited to get started. I'm going to start my planning soon but want to get some feedback. My fiance was not very happy when I was telling her how much things cost but after a few days of showing her corals and all she was AMAZED by the colors and now she wants to get in on the build! :)

What is a good size beginner tank? I was thinking starting with a 90g or 120g but also the small tanks look nice

Should I start with the tank/stand first, then sump, then all the electronics?

I currently don't have any equipment, but starting to plan my build today. If anyone has used but quality equipment I'd be more than happy to chat. If local (phoenix, Arizona) I'd be more than happy to come pick it up!

Hope everyone has a great Tuesday, thanks for stopping by and reading my intro thread. Can't wait to show everyone progress :)

Crabs McJones

I'm so shi-nay
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!
giphy (1).gif
#WelcometoR2R 90 and 120 are both good tanks to start with :)
Personally, to save yourself alot of hassle in the long run, i'd get my tank, stand, sump, and electronics all gathered up first before starting up the tank.

Ruben's Reef

Ruben's Reef
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%