Help! Clownfish head down not eating..

iko2thdk

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Reposted from Tank emergency!!
I know this has been covered but since I'm a bit of a newbie..My tank is only about seven weeks old. Seeded the tank w Dr. Tim's and four small clownfish. All were doing well until one stopped eating, his respirations seemed to increase and I lost it last week. Now this week, one of the smaller clowns started swimming in one place, head down and stopped eating. The tank seems to have cycled, ammonia at 0 similar for nitirites. Planning a water change for tonite. any thoughts? thanks r2r.

BeejReef

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
From what I've read and been told by peeps far more experienced than me... clownfish don't really work well in small numbers other than one or two. One chills by his/her-self. Two come to an understanding... I'm the Alpha, know your role. Any more than that and someone is on the oustside and will get bullied, stressed, killed. Usually the same if you try to keep more than one pair. There can be only one!

I think the exception is huge harem tanks or schools of clownfish, but I don't know really.. just that a handful is generally bad.

Mjrenz

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There are several things that could be of concern, ammonia or disease would be at the top of the list imo. Test for ammonia first even though you added Dr Tim's, you may need more bacteria to establish a proper biofilter. Have you noticed any white stringy poop?

OP
OP
I

iko2thdk

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
No white stringy poop. I suspect velvet. Apparently a lot of these fish have it and we cannot see it. I DO believe my tank has cycled..

OP
OP
I

iko2thdk

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Can you post all your parameters? Also a picture would help.