Help me make my own Lanthanum Chloride

mrlavalamp

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Then I would not rely on a skimmer as your mechanism for precipitate removal.

I would also create a more dilute solution to reduce the risk of overdosing due to error on my part.

I'm no expert in the subject, but I recall that dosing over time allows for more efficient removal of phosphate vs the alternate reactions that occur (like creating lanthanum carbonate when there is no phosphate in the immediate area). dosing over time also allows a skimmer to be effective at removing precipitates.

Dennis Cartier

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Then I would not rely on a skimmer as your mechanism for precipitate removal.

I would also create a more dilute solution to reduce the risk of overdosing due to error on my part.

I'm no expert in the subject, but I recall that dosing over time allows for more efficient removal of phosphate vs the alternate reactions that occur (like creating lanthanum carbonate when there is no phosphate in the immediate area). dosing over time also allows a skimmer to be effective at removing precipitates.
My thread on a LaCl reactor I built was posted earlier. The beauty of using a dedicated reactor is it allows you to control and remove the precipitate. Although inert, the precipitate will affect phosphate tests like Hanna. Not removing the precipitate adequately can result in situations where you think you have an acceptable amount of phosphate, but your corals can't use it as it is bound to Lanthanum. Which can leave you phosphate deficient and not realize it.